WordPress Pumpkin

WordPress Pumpkin (Photo credit: Eric M Martin)

Nine days ago I decided to take a stab at this blog thing.  It is definitely a work in progress and I have a long way to go to make ‘good’.  It does seem like a vast majority of bloggers do not stick with it long enough to ever achieve the good status…there is a fair chance that I will join the millions of other would be bloggers & stop writing within a month or two.But until then, I have become mildly obsessed.  I blame it on the WordPress’ statistics page.  I find myself constantly logging in to see how many views, how people found my blog, etc.  I was secretly thrilled the first time I hit triple digits.  Then I topped 200 views a day for 3 days in a row – woohoo – I’m famous!  The constant monitoring of my WordPress stats has replaced my less diligent, but no less obsessive monitoring of the DVIDS page where I post pictures to share with the world.

I will continue to watch my statistics (it’s a good diversion from the infinitely more important, but less fun things I need to do).  I will continue to try to figure out what interests others, but at the end of the day, this is for me & what I feel like sticking out there.  All the better if it is something others like too, but the goal is for me to figure out a forum to share my thoughts & my pictures.  If it brings joy & entertainment to others, that’s a bonus.

You can help me be better by giving me some honest feedback:  what do you like about my blog, what should I improve?  Any layout tips from those that are more experienced?  Anything I can do to find people that may want to read this?

Thanks & keep the view clicks coming…I will go over the 1000 view mark very soon!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

7 responses »

  1. allthewaydoc says:

    It’s not a bad obsession or addiction to have. Just write for the joy of it or for the need to get it our of your head. The views come and go and if one starts doing it for that reason it soon loses its appeal.

    Have a great day!

  2. Luke Heikkila says:

    I’m with you on the stats Dan. 200 views a day is good; I’ve yet to hit that plateau. You are in a position to give people info that few others can. I would think that photos and the perspective of the daily grind would be of interest to new and repeat readers. Mess around with key words that will end up in ‘search results’. My new obsession is to figure out how people find my blog and see if I can’t write (from the heart) about those topics. I’m just a guy with a distant-opinion on the Panjwai Shootings, but people who Google ‘Panjwai Shootings’ will find my blog on the first page of returned results. One reader found my blog by searching, “I’m worried about my husband going to Kandahar”. I don’t think it was my wife, but nonetheless it’s powerful to know that in a person’s search for difficult answers they may have found some useful information in the words I’ve written.

    The second 1,000 views will come much easier than the first 1,000.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks Luke. The opinion page has always been my favorite page of the newspaper so I have enjoyed reading all the new opinions I have discovered over the last few weeks.

      Take care!

  3. Luke Heikkila says:

    BTW, you and Davin should know that somewhere between 20 and 30,000 viewers of PBS in Minnesota will be seeing photos you have snapped while in AFG. I’ll be talking about my trip with Cathy and Eric next Friday and I highly recommended that the producers of Almanac cover my talking head with your photos as I describe where I’ll be and what I’ll be doing.

    I’ve downloaded high-res shots off of DVIDS. ( Photos I grabbed pertained to Landscape/scenery, soil testing, vet seminar, shuras, interacting with Afghans, kids)

    Sorry for hogging the comment section, but I met with Chaplain Morris yesterday, you & the rest of your Unit are in his prayers.

I appreciate your comments

