We have a detachment of Soldiers living at FOB Bullard in the Shah Joy District of Zabul Province.  We ran up there the other day to check in & bring the guys mail, extra food and other needed and wanted items.

Depending on the road conditions and weather, it usually takes two or more hours to make the 65 Km trip.  Here’s what I saw from the front seat of the LMTV:

The Castle

Alexander the Great’s Castle in Qalat

A family trip to the Bazaar in Qalat

Grocery shopping in Qalat

A typical car transport

Number 1

Buses can haul a lot of stuff too

Taking the bridge bypass

and this is why we took the bridge bypass

It is surprising how much traffic is on the road

There is always room for more on an Afghan truck

Shops along the highway

The road has as many lanes as you can make

Solar lights on the highway – another one of the many well-intentioned, but failed projects in Afghanistan

If they ever build an overpass here it will really throw off their current hauling practices

It’s a constant game of chicken…

Wheelbarrows are loaded to over-capacity too

Number 2

filling in a crater left by an IED

the Castle

Number 3

The river – used to wash cars, tractors, motorcycles, clothes, people & everything else

Tractors haul a lot too

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

 

18 responses »

  1. Luke Heikkila says:

    Reblogged this on 10 Days in the Sand and commented:
    Want to see a little bit of what a soldier sees while he’s traveling through Afghanistan? Check out LTC Dan Bohmer’s latest blog post.

  2. Keith Schmitt says:

    Great pics Dan.My Nephew was just deployed 2 Afghanistan, I prayer for every1 of you.Thanks for your service.

  3. Thanks Dan,
    This provides so much information on where in the world you are and who you are with.

  4. Danielle Laabs says:

    Praying for your safety Dan. Love reading your blog…I think it’s super hip and awesome!

  5. Jen says:

    Dan-
    You may have just helped get a care package to someone I miss, there at Bullard. Thank you.
    And if not, Thank You for posting these words.
    Be safe
    Jen

  6. free penny press says:

    As an ex soldier and the sister of a soldier in Afghanistan, thank you for this blog. Now I see a bit of what he lives & sees.
    Stay safe!!
    lynne

  7. Thanks for sharing the world we never see.
    And, thank you for liking my post about Thomas Edison and making mistakes.
    Stay safe and a happy weekend to yah!

  8. Andrea says:

    This blog is such a good idea! My best friend is stationed over there and I’m always asking him questions and wondering what things are like over there! If you know of someone who doesn’t receive any mail, please email and let me know and my husband and I would be happy to send some things over. Since you’re interested in who views your blog, maybe you could leave a shoutout section from all the U.S. states that people could comment and say where they are from…just an idea 🙂 Thank you for all that you sacrifice.

  9. Glad you’re blogging! ~Sherry~

  10. […] We took a quick trip over the FOB Lagman yesterday.  I tagged along so I could mail some stuff home.  FOB Apache does not have a Post Office, so it requires a trip to Lagman to send mail out.  I like to think that is why I am so lousy at sending written letters.  As luck would have it, I was able to get the right front seat of the LMTV, which allows me to take pictures.  I am surprised the pictures look as good as they do considering there is a thick layer of armored glass between me & the subjects of my photographs, hence the title of my earlier posts here & here. […]

I appreciate your comments

