I have mentioned before that one of the things that has really sucked me in on this blog is the way WordPress compiles instant statistics on the blog so I can easily track ‘progress’.  The number of page views is the main one I watch because I like that I am able to put stuff up that people apparently like to see.  As of 0525, 21 Mar 12, I am at 2532 total page views.  That is over 2500 views in just 15 days.  Thanks to everyone for taking the time to look & then coming back to look some more.  I honestly appreciate any comments or suggestions that would enhance your viewing pleasure.

The other stat that fascinates me is the countries where the page views come from.  In 15 days I have had people from 22 countries look at this blog.  Here is the list, in order of number of hits:

  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • Finland
  • Romania
  • Philippines
  • Afghanistan
  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Japan
  • Pakistan
  • Australia
  • Kuwait
  • Greece
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Germany
  • Belgium
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Switzerland
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • France

I have visited 11 of the 22 countries.  I hope I get a reader from one of my favorite countries: Iceland.

View of Reykjavík from the tower of Hallgrímsk...

View of Reykjavík from the tower of Hallgrímskirkja. Deutsch: Rejkjavík vom Turm der Hallgrímskirche aus gesehen. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you have a friend in Iceland, ask them to check it out.  I am also missing Costa Rica & Fiji…hell, now that I start think about it, there are many countries I have visited I wish I had a reader from…hello, Czech Republic?

It gave me the idea for a future post to assemble pictures from each of those trips and post them as recognition of that county having someone reading it.  The second thought was I need to make a list of every country that I get a viewer from that I want to visit.  My last thought was should I be concerned that someone in Pakistan is reading my blog?

Taliban border guard in Torkham, Afghanistan.

Taliban border guard in Torkham, Afghanistan. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Granted, the bad guys are all around, but they use the border area as a base of operations.  A good reminder to always consider OPSEC (Operational Security) measures in all we do online.

I wish they would break down the US views by state.

Have a great day & thanks again for poking around on my blog!

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

24 responses »

  1. USA here and for some reason the third ranked country for my blog is Iceland. I get a couple of views from Iceland daily. Maybe I should make a post like this and see who the Icelanders are (if they reply).

  2. Aaron Staines says:

    Of course you’re welcome for the views- more importantly, thank you for posting. I’ve now caught up with all your posts (I think), shared them with my family and you are a talented photographer. Since there’s no stats by state, put a big star on the map for those of us in Oakland, CA. We appreciate your news and photos. You might hesitate, thinking some of the pics are repetitive, but hey- if that’s the reality, we want to see it, too. Every day. We’re getting precious little else in the media.

    Good luck,
    Aaron

  3. Jen says:

    Sacramento, CA here.
    I second the comment about the very limited info available from the media. Its kinda pathetic how little coverage afghanistan is getting.
    Plus it’s nice to have a personal view. photos are awesome! again I second the comment about repetition. don’t worry about that at all!
    and even if you have to limit what into is coming out for security, I still am interested in reading.
    be safe

  4. Luke Heikkila says:

    I’m hooked on looking at the image and word searches that people use to get to the blog…very few comments or subscriptions result so they aren’t all that impressed with what they read, but hey…my blog is out there and circulating and that’s cool. Today’s searches that brought people to 10 Days are:

    TodayYesterdaySummaries
    Search Views
    ariana airlines, flight changes 1
    adt afghanistan 2012 1
    minnesota national guard logo 1
    location of fob apache in zabul afghanistan 1

    I too have some hits from Pakistan…I wonder if they got to the blog via Search Engine…OPSEC

  5. Iceland has one of the highest per capita internet usages in the world so I’m sure you’ll get them soon!

  6. Ben says:

    Love the blog, I have invested interest bc I’ll be there soon so the information is great. Don’t forget opsec though with all the other countries viewing. I’m sure you watch that carefully though.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks. Let me know if you have specific questions!

      • Ben says:

        Well I’ll be headed to Apache…I think you wrote before that the only internet there is at the MWR, is that correct or did they install WiFi in the living areas? Thanks

      • danbohmer says:

        Some folks have bought commercial internet systems (satellite) but they really don’t work very well & not worth the cost as far as most are concerned. A wifi service has been available for a small area of Apache that works ok. I was able to get an additional access point & I installed near my tent, so now we have it down here too. I am able to Skype with some delay/dropped calls, but not bad. There is still talk that a more robust wifi service will be available in the near future. We’ll see…

      • Ben says:

        I sure hope so, I’ll be on an SFAT team so I don’t know where we’ll be on the fob/camp. Good to know.

      • danbohmer says:

        I know where you will be (unless they change their minds (which is possible) Edge City probably will not work there, but I think i could get you an access point…look me up when you hit the ground & I will help you as I can. You can email me using AKO if you have other , non-public, questions.

  7. Cheryl L says:

    Greetings from Colorado!
    I just found your blog because of your cross post from Cheryl Hatch’s North 2 the Future blog.
    Would you mind if I posted something on the Soldiers’ Angels Forums about your blog? Many of us appreciate and enjoy any and all information that help us do what we do…supporting our men and women in uniform as well as their families, our vets, and wounded warriors!

    Thanks for all you do.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thank you. That would be fine. The more that read & enjoy, the better.

      • Cheryl L says:

        Great! I just posted a glowing report on SA Forum…hopefully my fellow Angels will be stopping by in the coming days/weeks. Your blog is great, keep it up and don’t pay too much attention to the young folks (re:Twitter)…some of us really appreciate an old fashioned (ha ha) blog.

        Thank you for all you do…you’re a true Patriot!

      • danbohmer says:

        Thanks again. I appreciate that.

  8. Kelsey Buell says:

    Hello from Maryland! Cheryl, ya got me here! 🙂 The blog is great! I can see now that this will be a new addiction.

    PS. if you’re unhip for not using twitter… What does that make a 20 year old that doesn’t even own a twitter account… Haha.

  9. Diana says:

    I found your blog through Cheryl’s post on the Soldiers’ Angels forums – you are a talented photographer. Thank you both for your service and for sharing with us this vignette of your daily life. If you are counting states or cities, you can add Butte, Montana.

  10. Jules Knapp says:

    Iceland well sort of…………….the North County of New York. Adirondack Mts a little hamlet called Brantingham Lake. Iceland because we get on the average of 200 inches of snow….lake freezes over and we’ve gotten to -28.

    • danbohmer says:

      The Adirondacks are on my list of places to visit. I’m a big fan of snow, but below zero is too cold…which leads one to wonder why I live in northwestern Minnesota, a lot of cold and comparatively little snow…I still have not had a reader from Iceland…

I appreciate your comments

