Runnin’ to Lagman


The loads on top are often larger than the vehicle below

We took a quick trip over the FOB Lagman yesterday.  I tagged along so I could mail some stuff home.  FOB Apache does not have a Post Office, so it requires a trip to Lagman to send mail out.  I like to think that is why I am so lousy at sending written letters.  As luck would have it, I was able to get the right front seat of the LMTV, which allows me to take pictures.  I am surprised the pictures look as good as they do considering there is a thick layer of armored glass between me & the subjects of my photographs, hence the title of my earlier posts here & here.

I haven’t written a lot about Lagman.  It is a much larger base on the opposite end of Qalat from Apache.  Both bases are on the south side of Highway 1 and as a crow flies we are actually very close.  It isn’t a very long drive, but it does require us to go down through the edge of Qalat that runs along Highway 1.  The traffic, vehicular, bicycles and pedestrian can at times be very chaotic, which can lead to some tense moments as things get more crowded than is comfortable.  I will try to remember to write a bit more about Lagman a different time, but I would like to include photos, so it will need to wait until I take some.

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy some shots of scenes on the way there & back.

Thanks for looking!

20 responses »

  1. Elisa says:

    Your pictures are so real and dramatic! It must be surreal to you sometimes.

    It must be morning there, right? I was going to tell you to have a good night, but I’ll say good morning!

    elisa

  2. laz says:

    That picture of the woman walking with the long veil is amazing! I remember when I visited Morroco and it was a spiritual holiday for theme and I was photographing these woman with the veils and someone told me, you are lucky you didn’t get killed! You are not suppose to do that! I was like, well I didn’t know, I just found it so amazing.. lol

  3. Marian says:

    I’m surprised at how much soda there is for sale. Those bicycles those 2 boys have look pretty new. have you had a chance to see a “jingle” truck yet? I’ve enjoyed seeing the castle, but I think I’m over it. 🙂

    • danbohmer says:

      The Jingle trucks are everywhere. I have some pictures of them on the ‘Armored Glass’ posts. At this point I can’t pass by the Catsle without taking a picture or two, it just wouldn’t be right 😉

  4. Cheryl L says:

    Will you ever get to see inside the Castle? I can’t imagine being so close to that kind of history without able to get inside to see it!

    Please stay safe…it looks like things are getting dangerous in many areas of Afghanistan now that winter is going away.

    • danbohmer says:

      I was up there last Fall. There really isn’t an ‘inside’; it is just a big mud wall compound. There are many typical Afghan buildings inside the walls as it is used as a base of operations for the ANA (Afghan National Army).

  5. Jules Knapp says:

    Interesting photos. Are the people in the packed Vanagons moving?

    The lady in the veil is a bit creepy…for me.

    I have a question…………..how do you tell the good guys from the bad ones? Getting into a traffic jam without an “out” would make me a bit nervous. We’re taught not to get boxed in…always have an out. I can’ t imagine…………………..

    • danbohmer says:

      Oh yes, the drive down the highway like that.

      There is no way to tell the good guys vs bad guys, that is why it is a little uncomfortable with all that traffic and there is not much you can do except know that your vehicle is bigger & well armored…but still…

  6. Jules Knapp says:

    Can’t wait for your next blog. Everytime I browse in…that lady in the purple veil greets me.

  7. Jules Knapp says:

    No worries….with your next blog…she’ll move down on the page.

  8. Genie says:

    Fascinating photos! Thank you for sharing your world with us.

  9. Elena says:

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright
    violation? My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any techniques to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • danbohmer says:

      I have no idea if folks are using my stuff, I really do not spend much time on the Internet. At the suggestion of someone else, I did start using the Creatives Commons copyright stuff, but I have no idea if that is much of an actual deterrent.

      • I would appreciate the use of the photo you took of the one-legged man walking with a cane.I want to write on it, ” What are WE complaining about?” I can place on it also, recognition that it is your photo, but would like to see it be available for free copying and re-sending. I am just another human interested in helping others.
        Thank you for your time…
        Beverly

  10. Matt backfisch says:

    Was at lagman in 2010 was in the Nasty. Scott Andrews gym is named after my fallen brother we lost that year

I appreciate your comments

