Since arriving in Afghanistan last October I have experienced countless acts of kindness and generosity from complete strangers.  Myself and other members of our unit have received a tremendous amount of cards, letters and care packages over the last 6+ months.  It is really touching to know that there are so many who will do so much for complete strangers.

An incredible gift from a generous stranger. Thanks Mark, it is very much appreciated!

Last week I received two large packages with everything I needed to make my own pizza and a whole bunch of other great junk food from a generous couple from New York.  Yesterday I received an amazing box from a kind soul in Illinois.  Mark had read me whining about my crappy Sigma lens (here & here) I had bought, so he sent me a lens for my camera.  The box also included many books that I will read and then pass on to the MWR/USO.

I am embarrassed to admit that I have done a poor job at expressing my appreciation to everyone that has taken the time to write and send me things.  I have been truly blessed to be the recipient of so much.

I know this doesn’t absolve me from my lack of personal ‘Thank you’s’, but it is a small step in the right direction.  So for all you wonderful people in my life, family, friends and strangers – I truly thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you have done for me.

My beautiful wife Kate deserves special recognition because she has made it a point to send me at least 2 boxes every week along with a flood of cards, letter and drawings from her & the 2 little munchkins.  I am extremely lucky to have found her and convinced her to join this rollercoaster journey of my life.

Thanks again everyone!

9 responses »

  1. Wow…that was really wierd! I just finished a post I’m putting up tomorrow that has some writings of Peter Godwin from the book “When a Crocodile Eats the Sun”, and opened your post to see that book on top of your pile! Coincidence?

  2. Luke Heikkila says:

    you all deserve it…keep up the great work.

  3. Jules Knapp says:

    You do take great pictures……….and with Mark’s generosity there is no doubt…they will be National Geographic quality. Your pictures and blogs are very informative and appreciated.

    Have a great day and once again thanks.

  4. Ooo those are my favorite things! Books and a camera lens lol!

  5. […] Sigma Saga I have written a few times in the past (here, here, here and here) about the crappy Sigma lens I have and the poor customer service I received from Sigma […]

I appreciate your comments

