Rainy Qalat


It has rained off and on for the last several days, making things around here a sloppy mess.  The silty sand turns into sticky muck and water puddles every where because the ground is so hard and sun-baked it does not soak in quickly.  The Tarnak River, which runs through qalat is as full as I have seen it.

The kids like giving us the 'Thumbs Up'

Despite the wet, nasty weather, the people of Qalat are out in full-force.  The shops and street vendors still have their wares out for purchase and everyone is out, seemingly oblivious to the rain and mud.

9 responses »

  1. Luke Heikkila says:

    true…the ground is rock hard…KAF was a mess…ankle deep water most everywhere, made navigation difficult

  2. Luke Heikkila says:

    Dan…here’s a message I received from a guy on my blog…I’ll copy and paste…can you get his name and number into the hands of the right people? MY NAME IS ROZI MOHAMMAD I AM FROM ZABUL QALAT I WORKED WITH A D T IN APACHE FOR OVER 2 YEARS I WAS THE ONE THAT I WAS PROVIDING ITEMS FOR THEM IN 2010 . 2011 BUT NOW I DO NOT HAVE NEW TEAM EMAIL TO CONTACT THEM I AM A CONTRACTOR DIRECTOR OF RCC COMPANY IF ANY ONE SEE THIS MESAGE PLEASE EMAIL ME BY THIS ROZI_MOHAMMAD31@YAHOO.COM CALL 070 71 31 160

    thanks, Luke

    • danbohmer says:

      thanks Luke, but it is hard to tell who is legit. Our S4 types get lots of emails from all over. I hope your flight home is/was uneventful. Sorry we didn’t get a chance to visit.

      • Luke Heikkila says:

        No worries, just felt the urge to pass it on. I’m still in Dubai…on a flight for Atlanta in about 5 hours. I was only at Apache for a couple of nights…then both I and you moved on…let’s hook up when you get back to the MN. I hope to keep in touch.

      • danbohmer says:

        roger. be safe

  3. Jude says:

    Nearly as wet as southern France then – we just don’t have the mud! And our rain is COLD!

  4. Luke Heikkila says:

    If I knew how to shop photos around I’d suggest you do that with the Peace Sign girls. Beautiful shot.

I appreciate your comments

