It is that time again.  The time for me to report my latest statistics.  I report them because they are my main motivation to keep doing this.  It is a little personal triumph when I reach the next level of number of views or number of followers or a new country of origin for the viewer.  It makes me feel like the time I spend (which truthfully isn’t all that much) in front of the computer is worth it.

WordPress

WordPress (Photo credit: Adriano Gasparri)

I started this blog because people always asked questions about what things were like here.  I thought of doing a blog before and I tried to do a journal when I got here, but it quickly died because I received no enjoyment from it.  I’m not much of a writer, at times I wish I was, but I’m not.  So, I decided to give the blog thing a try.  I really enjoy taking pictures and it is fun being able to share them with people that like looking at pictures.  But I didn’t have a lot of faith in my ability to stick to it, but I thought no harm, no foul if I did it a few times & then let it go.

After a couple days I took great interest in the WordPress statistics and the fact there there were more than a couple people clicking on my little blog.  I thought it was cool to see the interest from such a diverse population, from countries all over the world.  And so began my quest to not only keep the blog going, but find content that interested others to get my numbers up.  In just over 6 weeks, they have reached levels I would have never imagined or predicted.  I am slightly in awe at the following I have received and am glad I am able to put something out there that people want to see.

Here are my latest stats as of 0607, 23 Apr 12:

  1. 17,977 page views
  2. 102 followers – not counting those that click through from Facebook or Twitter – by the way, for you folks that rely on that method, I would encourage you to become a dedicated follower instead so you don’t miss a post…plus, then my followers number will grow 😉
  3. 67 posts
  4. 537 comments
  5. Most common search term that brings people to me: ‘FOB Apache’
  6. The most unusual search term that lead to my blog: ‘”catheter bag” child’
  7. Top referral site: Facebook
  8. Top post: Home page
  9. 2nd most popular post: Toilets on the FOB
  10. Top 3 single day page views: 858, 838 and 818…odd they all end in ‘8’
  11. Readers from 54 different countries.  Still no one from Fiji 😦
  12. Top 3 countries: USA, UK, Romania
  13. Country that surprised me the most: Cyprus

Thank you for taking the time to read my stuff and look at my pictures.  I really appreciate the kind words and the encouragement I have received and look forward to seeing how this thing can grow.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

13 responses »

  1. Danielle Laabs says:

    🙂 Pretty sure “catheter bag” was in a comment I wrote on one of your pictures. Love your blog!

    • danbohmer says:

      It is also a caption on a picture…but why was someone searching that term & what did they think when they ended up in Afghanistan? Thanks for reading Danielle. Say hi to Chris

  2. Cheryl L says:

    I and my family enjoy your postings very much. It’s nice to have a window on that part of the world that the media typically gives cursory bad-news reports on.
    Thank you for doing what you do, we appreciate your service.Please stay safe!!

  3. meanwhilein3 says:

    This so great to see! Keep writing for us all.

  4. Luke Heikkila says:

    I’ve found a key to unlock some big numbers…put photos in a gallery. Once readers in the gallery each photo that is flipped through counts as a ‘click’, I guess. I put a sh_t ton of photos up recently and landed 2,300 clicks in one day, previous high was in the 500s. There’s a law of diminishing returns, I’m sure, but for gawdy click rates go for a gallery. However, my stat graph is all out of skew now…the 2,300 towers over all others and the others days are flattened out. stay safe.

    • danbohmer says:

      hmmm. I think I have been using galleries…maybe it has something to do with the template used and how things are displayed too. I think you have a crap-ton more followers than me too. I will keep plugging away. I am pretty amazed at the numbers I have so to get 2300 in one day would be crazy!

  5. Jules Knapp says:

    Keep up the good work……………..
    Catheter bag child…….hmmmmm interesting.

  6. Cafe says:

    Congrats on your blogging success! Keep it up 🙂

I appreciate your comments

