The Munchkins of Mizan


My last day at COP Mizan I went on a foot patrol through the local villages near the COP.

Amazing bright blue eyes

The kids, as they are everywhere, are always eager to see us and see what they can get from us.  I have said it before, but the kids in the more rural areas like this are not nearly as rude, obnoxious or pushy as the kids in the ‘busy’ areas of Afghanistan.  They are much more pleasant to visit with…

Click an image to see it full-size.

Thanks for looking!


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

29 responses »

  1. Truly wonderful post

  2. free penny press says:

    Children are children no matter where live on the planet. beautiful beings..
    wonderful pictures!!

  3. Jules Knapp says:

    The one with the red hair….reminds me of Chucky.

    Weird to see blue eyes on an Afghan kid……

    When they “want” something from you….and you don’t have anything…does it change their demeanor? Surely you don’t have something for EVERY child.

    • danbohmer says:

      When you do not have enough for everyone it is really hard to give any of them anything because doing so can nearly set off a mini riot as they fight over the smallest item. I generally wait until I am alone with a small number – no more than 3- before I give any type of treat/gift.

  4. Luke Heikkila says:

    magazine-quality pics here. Great job Dan!

  5. Luke Heikkila says:

    Reblogged this on 10 Days in the Sand and commented:
    Dan Bohmer, a Minnesota National Guard soldier deployed to Zabul Province in Afghanistan takes some incredible photos of children. Take a look. These are some magazine-quality images.

  6. Wonderful pictures Dan. Great compositions!

  7. Oh my goodness, what Cuties! They must really like you, lokat the smiles 🙂 beautiful pictures

  8. Genie says:

    Beautiful faces, beautiful photos!

  9. Striking photos. Thanks.

  10. Reggie says:

    Beautiful images – I am amazed, though, that they trust you as a soldier enough to pose for pictures? I am a newcomer to your blog, and found it because you ‘liked’ one of my posts (Thank you for that, by the way! :-)), so I think I still have some catching-up to do on your posts.

    • danbohmer says:

      They have no reason not to trust us. For the most part they mob us with requests. Some kids are shy or reserved, but they almost always come around pretty fast.

  11. Francina says:

    beautiful post, Dan.

  12. I love how you capture faces – great shots.

  13. rigmover says:

    All really great shots there, thanks for dropping by my blog, glad you like it.

I appreciate your comments

