Well, the end of my day, 13 May 2012, is almost here.  Back home it is Mother’s Day; just one more of the many special days that I have missed and unfortunately it will not be the last.

So far I have missed out on over 7 months of my ‘normal’ life.  Many holidays and birthdays have come and gone.  Soon I will miss my anniversary.  Days like this make it just a little bit harder to understand why I have chosen this career.  A career that has taken me away from my family more often than I wish to think about.

The thing is, the hardest part is knowing that it is my choice.  I enlisted in the Army voluntarily and I have stuck with it for over 29 years.  So I can’t really complain about being away…but it doesn’t make it any easier.

I will do the next best thing to being there.  I sent cards to my Mom & my wife  and by pure luck they were delivered yesterday!  What was the chance of that happening?  I will call Mom & Skype with Kate & all will be ok with the world.  Not the same as being there and doing something nice so they can relax, but I promise to make it up to both of them!

So, here is to wishing a super awesom & relaxing day to my wonderful Mom & to my beautiful bride, the perfect mother to my little ones!  Love & miss you much – see you both in less than 2 weeks!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

14 responses »

  1. aaeilts says:

    They know how much you love them and wish you could be there 🙂

  2. gladys bohmer says:

    Dan i got my card Saturday – Thank you so much -Kate, Kennadi and Sam came to bring me a card – drawings and roses – they are very good to me Love You Mom

  3. Jules Knapp says:

    It is one of those careers where your family, who always comes first, knows they “share” their time with another “family”. BTDT ! They know your love for them. It’s always harder on the one who is away. Missing out on the kids growing up…but in the long run..it will work out for the family.

    Four months to go……….you can do that standing on your head. In two weeks, you’ll get a taste…then you will become what we refer to as “a short timer”.

    Skype makes it easier but you’re right it isn’t the same.

    Heads up chin out!

  4. Jules Knapp says:

    As you would say Hooorah!

  5. Julie B. Gonzalez says:

    Dan, it’s time for you to come home for good. You have served your country well.

    Thank you for everything you have done to help keep our country safe.

    Angel Hugs,
    Julie
    Soldiers’ Angels

  6. Genie says:

    Your family loves you, because you are you. Dan, would you be true to yourself if you didn’t volunteer?

    • danbohmer says:

      thanks, as they say – the Soldier volunteered, the family was volunteered. But it could always be worse, so no complaints…

      • Genie says:

        It’s who you are and I and many others like me appreciate you and your family. I know all of you have made sacrifices that I will never know about nor understand for you to serve our country. I appreciate all of you who are called to the armed services along with your families.

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    We need people like you, but it does come at a price – sadly, for you and your family.

    There was a report this weekend that British soldiers receive shocking treatment at the hands of a large proportion of the public. I feel ashamed of my fellow Brits. I hope your nation treats you better.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thank you. I am sorry to hear about the British Soldiers being treated badly. In the US the public is unbelievably nice & supportive, sometimes, I have to admit, the level of support and platitudes is a bit much, but it is very much appreciated.

I appreciate your comments

