The Sights from Highway 1


The day before I left to start my R&R journey I joined a convoy to visit our Soldiers up in Shah Joy.

On the journey north I was sitting in the backseat of an M-ATV.  Not the most appealing ride for several reasons:  It is cramped, even for my stubby frame, the AC was non-op, so it was hot and last but not least, the windows are tiny so it is all but impossible to see out them, let alone take pictures.

On the way back I secured my favorite seat – the right seat of the cargo truck (FMTV).  As you all know from previous posts, that gives me the best possible view of the world as we travel down the road.

Of course at this point in my life in Afghanistan, I think i have pretty much seen everything there is to see along highway 1:  physics defying overloaded vehicles, IED craters in the road, people & animals sharing all manner of rides, etc.  But you never know what may pop up.

Nothing ‘out of the ordinary’ popped out on this trip, so the pictures are not very unique, but I thought I would share a few anyway.

Thanks for looking.

10 responses »

  1. It’s amazing how they maximize efficiencies with their loads. The supply corps should take notes from these logisticians.

  2. Reggie says:

    Absolutely fascinating insight into other countries’ driving habits! I am rather taken by the colourful ‘jingle trucks’ – is that what they are called?

  3. boomiebol says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking one of the posts

  4. teabuddy says:

    OMG this is so much like India!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. How great it is to see a glimpse of the world there via your blog. Thanks for sharing with us all your experiences and encounters, and thanks for liking my post. Take care yourself!

I appreciate your comments

