That was the question someone recently sent me.  My original answer was ‘of course you can’.  I am not a photographer and do not envision ever becoming one.  I take pictures because I enjoy it and I also enjoy sharing them – hence the blog.  I figured what could possibly be the harm in free & unrestricted distribution?  So by all means, if you have a desire for any of my pictures please help yourself.  You are free to use any of them, all I ask is that you give me photo credit.  But, I have been given some good advice by those that are smarter than me on these things & I really have no choice but to put restrictions on the use of my words & images.

So, here’s the deal.  I am still willing to share, but you need to ask my permission & tell me what you are going to use it for, etc.  If we come up with an agreement, I will send you the image to use.  The legalese can be found on my Copyright Info page.

For the first few months of this blog I was loading my pictures full-size.  Now I reduce them to less than 1mb to improve loading.  If you want the full high-resolution file, let me know and I will send it to you if we agree on the use as outlined above.  My pictures are typically around 7-8mb each, so they are pretty big.

At least 99% of my pictures are straight from the camera as I do not do post-processing.  On a rare occasion I may crop a photo, but usually my cropping is done before I take the picture by using my lens or feet to zoom in/out.  Some day I may understand the importance of post-processing, but for now I will stick to just taking pictures.

If you are a real photographer, all tips would be appreciated.  It would great to improve my ability to take good pictures.

Nikon D7000 Digital SLR Camera with AF-S DX 18...

Nikon D7000 Digital SLR Camera with AF-S DX 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens (2010) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have also had a couple of inquiries about my camera and lenses I use.  I notice that real photographers often have a page with a list of their equipment.  I decided I would do the same, so the equipment I currently use is below.  In addition, I have put the same info on a new blog ‘page‘.

Here is the equipment I have in Afghanistan:

  • Nikon D7000
  • Tokina 11-16mm DX 2.8
  • Nikkor 18-70 DX 3.5-4.5G
  • Nikkor 18-135mm DX 3.5-5.6G
  • Sigma 18-250mm 3.5-5.6 DC
  • Nikkor 28-300mm 3.5-5.6G
  • Nikkor 35mm DX 1.8G
  • Nikkor 50mm 1.4G
  • Nikkor 50mm 1.8D
  • Nikkor 55-200mm DX 4-5.6G
  • Nikkor 70-200mm 2.8G
  • Nikkor 105mm Micro 2.8G
  • Nikkor 135mm DC 2D

My ‘go to’ lens that is on my camera 99% of the time is the 28-300mm because I like the versatility it gives me.  You may have noticed a large percentage of my pictures are zoomed shots and using my feet to get the zoom is not always practical or even possible, especially here in Afghanistan.

I use to have a Nikkor 18-200 DX, but it was lost along with my old Nikon D80 a few years ago.  I replaced them with the D7000 & the 28-300mm non-DX lens.  I like the extra zoom, but I do miss the wide end.  To fix that I decided to try a less expensive alternative and bought the Sigma 18-250mm.  It worked ok, but never as good as the Nikkor lens.  I had only used it for a few weeks before it completely failed on me.  It took several weeks to get Sigma to authorize me to return it for repair – I would have preferred replacement – and they just sent back to me.  It is the lens on my camera today, but I am not confident that it will last so I will now travel with a couple spare lenses when I go out.  As I stated in this post I will never buy another Sigma product.  I will stick to Nikon, even if they cost a bit more.

The big decision I need to make when I get home is should I stick with the D7000 and buy the Nikkor 18-200 DX or just go up to a full-frame camera (Nikon D800)?

You may notice I do not list a flash…it’s because I do not own one.  I know they are helpful & useful in a lot of situations, but I really like the way pictures look with natural light.  Besides, it is just one more thing I would need to try to learn to use it correctly…I’m not ready for that yet.

In addition, the only tripod I have is a little 7-inch Manfrotto I bought while in Switzerland to take self-portraits.  So pretty much all my pictures are handheld which is why I need to use image stabilization capable lenses.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

18 responses »

  1. motre says:

    You could attach the Creative Commons license to your photos (at least the ones you want to let anyone use anywhere). Then people would see it more clearly that they are free to use it. And then if there is one you decide is not appropriate for that, you can just not the copyright reserve.

    I believe I did read somewhere that WordPress has some means to make the license notation automatic, and credit you when someone else on WordPress uses your picture. But I cannot recall where that is. I’m planning to get a (separate) photography blog started here and I’ll want to find out how to do that by then.

    • danbohmer says:

      How do I do a Creative Commons License? I will look around for the WP thing, but would appreciate it if you find it, let me know.
      Thanks

      • motre says:

        It’s probably wise to attach your licensing statement in a comments tag of the photo itself. Many times people just grab a copy of photos they like and lose track of where it came from. Then a reference to the license in the accompanying text, and in your “About” page or a “License” (full license details can be here) page would be a plus.

      • danbohmer says:

        thank you for all of your tips

  2. Mark says:

    (I originally posted this as a comment to you copyright data)

    IMHO you really should reconsider the use of the least restrictive creative commons license. While I understand the spirit in which you have done this, I’m not sure you have considered the potential consequences.

    This license allows individuals to not only use your images COMMERCIALLY without compensation (if they are valuable enough for them to make money off of them, you should be getting a cut -plus you presumably don’t have model releases which is a whole other discussion on liability), they allow people to use them for ANY purpose – including some that you may find morally or ethically reprehensible. Additionally, they may edit them in any manner they see fit – again, including those you would not find acceptable.

    Remember, copyright includes your right to not have your work displayed in a place or manner which you do not want. Think of your reaction if you were to have someone forward you an advertisement prominently featuring one of your images supporting the one organization that you most despise – with your name front and center attached to the image (just like the image requires). Before you dismiss this as not being realistic – shoot me an email and I’ll tell you about someone I know whose image was used in a manner they never expected and would never have agreed to.

    Keep your rights and be selective in who you give permission to. Not because you are greedy and are trying to monetize this….but rather so that you know how, when, where and by whom your creations are being used.

    • danbohmer says:

      Unfortunately, I understand what you are saying and I have to say I can see your point…I will change it…thanks for help.

      • motre says:

        I do agree you should definitely put thought into how you want to license your work. The Creative Commons licenses do have multiple choices which you can see here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creative_Commons_license

        And the CC licenses are not the only choices. Google for alternatives or follow some of the links in that Wikipedia page.

        I think the CC licenses are good for many things (for me) and I will be using one or more for most of my photography (there might be some exceptions I want to sell). Whether it is for you depends on your goals. Just don’t forget the reality of a world that just wants to take everything for their own purposes and can do some very bad things with it.

        One option I’m exploring is to use a CC license like the “Attribution + Noncommercial + ShareAlike” combination on lower resolution images, and making the full camera and raw versions available for a commercial license.

        I also suggest editing your photos to remove certain EXIF data such as camera and lens serial numbers (can’t do that with raw files if you ever decide to release those, but the numbers can be replaced with zeros). I use a program called “exiftool”.

      • danbohmer says:

        thinking about all of this almost takes all the fun out of it

  3. Thanks for this post, I never even thought about the potential consequences of others using my work.

  4. My go-to lens is also a 28-300mm because of its versatility, albeit a Tamron for my Canon.

    • danbohmer says:

      I have been reluctant to buy a Tamron because I have heard/read some bad things. Then I try the Sigma & it has really given me concern about all the 3rd party vendors…but you are a real photographer, so your opinion matters…

      Do recommend Tamron?

      Do you use the 28-300 on a DX sensor or just full frame?

      Thanks, Dan

      • I have the Canon 550D which I believe is a 1.6 crop.

        I have two Tamrons, one Sigma, and one Canon lens. The Tamron 28-300 is my favorite.

        I believe in the adage that what comes out of the camera is just the basics to start with, especially since I shoot RAW. So any problems with any lens can be fixed with all the various lens corrections utilities. Even Canon and Nikon recognize the limitations of their lenses and provide lens correction programs to Adobe for inclusion in Photoshop.

  5. zannyro says:

    Thanks for your post….It was very informative to begin with and then all of the comments were even more informative….makes my head spin…but good advice!

  6. Margarita says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you enjoyed it! All my photos are taken with my cell phone, not a fancy one, and it’s been great fun! And thanks for the extremely useful and informative post! All the best, M

  7. Louise G. says:

    Hi Dan — I too am grateful for this post. I don’t post a lot of pictures — and pretty well all of mine are taken with my iPhone 🙂 — and as you say…. I had no idea.

    Like you, the spirit of generosity underlies my work — yet, it is important to be generous with myself. To preserve and value my work and to protect it from being misused. Reading your post — and all the comments — was extremely helpful!

    Thanks Dan — and thank you for stopping by my place. It is nice to ‘see’ you!

  8. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Good idea not to give free rein to your photos. You don’t know what they might use them for to promote, and it might not be in line with your ideals.

I appreciate your comments

