How much can you haul?


‘More’.  The answer in Afghanistan must always be ‘More’.  I have never seen vehicles so overloaded before.

However, what is even more amazing than the size of the loads is the fact we don’t see these trucks laying on their sides next to the road.  They are so top heavy & the road is so rutted and horrible; I have no idea how they avoid rolling the trucks.

Here is a collection of photos I took on my recent trip to the Shah Joy district in Zabul, Afghanistan.

thanks for looking!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

11 responses »

  1. Reggie says:

    Holy Smokes. I have never seen such overloaded vehicles before in my life. Do they haul some much in one go because the distances are so vast so they don’t want to waste time driving back and forth unnecessarily? Or is petrol/diesel really expensive, so they need to overload to cover their costs? Are there no roadblocks checking for dangerous overloading? I am astounded that those top-heavy vehicles don’t topple over… and I too am in awe of their tie-down skills – seriously impressive!

    • danbohmer says:

      Hard to say why exactly they haul so much in one load, but I would guess it is because they can…

      Afghanistan has a lot of things to worry about & I am guessing trucking regulations are way down on the list of things that need to get done…

  2. kathruth says:

    I can’t believe the stuff and loads. Where do they get all the struff? Thanks again for pictures, they were very interesting. Keep safe in your travels.

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    Reminds me of living in South Africa 🙂

  4. free penny press says:

    I’ve always been amazed by pictures like these.. Looking at these top heavy loads (and the actual unloading/loading) makes my upcoming Uhaul move not seem so bad 🙂
    Great shots!

  5. zannyro says:

    Can you imagine if we saw that in the States??? It would end up on the National news…and all over the highway!

I appreciate your comments

