Eat like an Afghan – just don’t think about it…


I like food and one of my favorite things to do while traveling is finding good ‘local’ restaurants and sampling ‘local’ foods. Of course this trip is unlike most I take, so it is impossible for me to do that here.

However I have had several opportunities to eat traditional meals with Afghan soldiers. The food is remarkably good and if you can block from your mind how it was prepared and sometimes served, it is actually enjoyable.

Let me explain a little…

First of all, the sanitary conditions are a far cry from what we expect in our dining facilities.  It is best to not think about how dirty the dishes are that would be used to prepare food.  It is best not to think about the Afghan cook that probably doesn’t have access to soapy water to wash his hands before cooking; if you thought too much of things like that, it would be more difficult to enjoy the meal.

In the ‘kitchen’ getting the plates ready to serve…yes, they are sitting on the plywood floor just inside the door.

Second, traditionally meals are served on big platters placed on the table and you just ‘dig in’.  The Afghans use their fingers or chunks of bread (‘foot’ bread…you don’t want to know) to scoop up what they eat.  I have had a few meals like that, but even then they have been gracious hosts and provided plates & forks for the benefit of us westerners that were uncomfortable scooping out of the community dish.

More often, the meals I have shared with the Afghans have been served like those in the pictures here.  Of course, every time I have been given more food than I could possibly eat in one sitting, but invariably it has been delicious.

And in 9 months I have only gotten sick once…

So just don’t think about it & enjoy 😉

Click an image to see it full-size.

Thanks for looking!

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

16 responses »

  1. Reggie says:

    That looks like a delicious meal, actually. Yum…

  2. zannyro says:

    Thanks for sharing these images…I’m always fascinated AND educated!

  3. mind over matter can be a powerful thing, but i don’t know if i could do it…lol

  4. Margarita says:

    Actually, that looks quite good!

  5. Jeremy says:

    The food is good! I was honored to join the ASG for meals breaking Ramadan feast a few time, and yes, you gotta close your eyes to sanitation! I never got sick, either.

    They are as hospitable as you say, they created a separate plater for us and had individual plates/silverware for our use. I’m glad you got to enjoy this food 🙂

  6. The food looks awesome and in all honesty I think we have become so sterile it borders on ridiculous…God help us if we ever run into a germ. 🙂

  7. I love trying new foods. That would be fun.

  8. A much more natural way of eating and cooking than our oversanitized world…

  9. Jules Knapp says:

    The food looks good. Kind of like any Chinese restaurant….ya don’t want to see the kitchen or the cooks hygiene or lack of.

I appreciate your comments

