For a Mom


One of my Followers…wow, that makes it sound like I’m the leader of a cult.  That’s not cool because what if someone thinks I am another Jim Jones?  I promise to never ask my followers to drink Kool-Aid.  Anyway, it sounds a little dorky to say my ‘Followers’, but that is what WordPress calls the subscribers to my blog, so I am going to have to go along.

I digress…

Let me try again.  One of my Followers (not a cult member) asked me if I could go say ‘hi’ to her son who lives on FOB Apache & maybe take a few pictures for her.  My answer was ‘of course’.  I mean really, who could say no to a Mom when it involves doing something like that?

So, when I got back to Apache from the ID Card saga, I tracked down her son & made arrangements to take a few photos.  Doing portraits/staged pictures is definitely not my strong suit, but I did what I could.

So Kathy, this is for you.  May God bless your son & his Soldiers.  I appreciate his service and may he have a safe and satisfying deployment.

All the best,

Dan

23 responses »

  1. what a gift and powerful pics. thank you to all those soldiers who fight for their country and their families who have to let them go.

  2. what a wonderful person you are

  3. zannyro says:

    SO GREAT!! I’m sure you’ll never know how much this meant to Kathy!!
    Yay for you!!

  4. Dawn says:

    Thanks for doing this Dan! Our whole family appreciates it. So nice to see Brian smiling!

  5. kathruth says:

    Dan, The pictures of Brian and his crew are fantastic. I couldn’t have done near as good myself. You have made a difficult situation a little more bearable. I have shared this blog with the soldiers families. Hopefully soon our guys & women won’t need to be over there in harms way. Thank you again so much for taking your time out to look up Brian and taking the pictures. They mean so much to my family and I and the other families. Be safe, Kathy

  6. made me blubber like a baby……

  7. tom says:

    Dan,
    Thanks!! I have been in the Air Force for 17 years yet my younger brother brian is my hero.

  8. Reggie says:

    This was such a wonderful, uplifting post – awesome of you to do this for Brian and his family. Love the images – you captured the cameraderie really well!

  9. Bonnie Erikson says:

    Here is another thank you from another mom. My son is SPC Erikson in SGT Plunkett’s group of soldiers. It was so nice to see them, they look great. I also enjoyed other parts of your blog, sorry you had to go through so much trouble for an ID but you did a great job of putting a bit of humor into a serious situation. thanks again

  10. […] Another Mom’s wish The other day I took and posted some pictures of some Soldiers at the request of one of the Soldier’s mom (click here). […]

  11. Love the one where they are laughing 😀 Great photos

  12. How very nice of you, Dan. I enjoyed all the pics. My son was in the 10th Mountain Division and I appreciated any pictures I received of him. You’re a good guy! Be well and stay safe.

  13. […] Soldiers that I took and posted for the mom of the guy on the far right just a few days ago (For a Mom).  If I would have guessed, I would have thought a picture of a little kid or a sunset would have […]

  14. SGT. Plunkett says:

    Great Pictures these guys have been put through a lot of test this deployment and I am proud to have been in charge of them. We had our rough times but that is going to happen when you spend 24 hours a day with someone. I am just grateful that the guys trusted me enough to lead them and as much as I tried to make everything perfect it just never happened. All of my soldiers are very hard workers and have learned many things on this deployment. This is my 3rd deployment with the Army and each time is 12 months long which is hard to be away from my family, friends and work. We are having to move to another base soon to start another job, and even though everyone is not happy I keep telling myself and soldiers in 5 weeks will will be going back with our other unit and prepping to go home shortly after. Thank you to everyone for your support I know the soldiers appreciate it.

  15. rigmover says:

    Great photo’s and a great thing to do.

  16. kathruth says:

    See Dan , this has to make you happy that your followers are even looking at old blogs. Great Job

I appreciate your comments

