The other day the wonderful blogger from Him, Her and  Us bestowed upon me the Illuminating Blogger Award.  To me these awards can feel somewhat akin to a chain letter designed to help introduce new readers to your blog.  The ‘proper’ thing to do is to follow the rules, which in this case are:

  1. Visit the Blog who awarded you and thank them.
  2. Tell everyone who nominated you, thank the blogger and include a link back to their site on your blog.
  3. Share a random thing about yourself.
  4. Select five or more nominees — and notify them on their blogs.
  5. Put the award on your blog somewhere.

I have decided that as much as I appreciate the recognition, I am not going to play along.

The nice thing about this was when she sent it to me she acknowledged that she knew I had decided to ‘opt out’, but wanted to recognize me anyway.

But I feel that I should acknowledge and thank her for taking the time to recognize me. It is great to know that people enjoy the stuff I am posting.

Please visit her blog  Him, Her and  Us, she has a lot of great pictures and interesting stories.

Thanks for reading,

Dan

7 responses »

  1. Like you, I opt out. I always thank the person in the comment box where they notified me, and on their post. I always appreciate the awards but they are not something I want to participate in.

  2. am going to take a cue from you

  3. El Guapo says:

    Well deserved, and an excellent recognition of the awarder without jumping through the hoops.

  4. Tinman says:

    It’s a well deserved award, your photos are always so amazing. And as you ask, I am off to visit Him, Her and Us.

  5. deCamville Design says:

    Congratulations! Your award is well-deserved. I hope you’ll continue blogging after you return home. ~Patricia

I appreciate your comments

