the other side of the fence


a few shots of what was happening on the other side of the fence the other day.  The two sheep herding boys had zero interest in interacting with me, which is so much different from what I am used to with the Afghan kids.

As I have posted previously, everywhere I have been, pens are one of the most highly sought after items by the Afghan kids.  So I tried to show them that I wasn’t a bad dude by throwing them each a pen.  I would have preferred to have been able jump over the wall and hand them a pen, but unfortunately, that is just not an option.

They very hesitantly inched over to the spot on the ground where the pens landed, seized them from the dirt and scurried a ‘safe’ distance away to examine their treasure.  The older boy was especially enthralled by it, spending quite some time looking at it as he clicked it open and closed.

Also while standing there another overloaded jingle truck came lumbering down the road…I can’t help myself, I automatically take the picture.  I liked how the bright orange bags contrasted with the blue truck.  Shortly after this truck passed the Afghan taxi (tractor with a trailer load of people) came rumbling down the highway.  Awesome way to travel I am sure…I guess it beats walking!

Thanks for looking.

Click an image to see it full-size:


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

12 responses »

  1. Great photos. As always, love the kids, but really like that pink flower too!

  2. kathruth says:

    Like the kids, but the trucks sure do carry BIG load.
    Only month to go for you. Great for you not for us. Enjoy your blog so much and the pictures.
    My son has two and half months to go, you don’t want to stick around until then. HA!HA!HA!

  3. I loved the pic of the pink flower and those trucks what large loads they carry they look like they could tip over………..

  4. Jodie says:

    Great pictures. 🙂

  5. Cheryl L A Soldiers Angel says:

    I don’t recall whether you’ve ever mentioned how the jingle trucks got their name? Do they make a jingling sound?

  6. […] blog with beautiful photographs is Nine and a Half Hours Ahead. A soldier, stationed in Afghanistan, Dan posts photographs of the scenery, the soldiers and the […]

I appreciate your comments

