166 Days…


WordPress does a good job of keeping us blogger types filled with stats because they have figured out that we are suckers for them like a 1st grader is a sucker for the gold stars the teachers hand out.  The WordPress stats are the doggie biscuits for us bloggers.

So today when I posted Soldiers & sky of Al Masaak WordPress let me know it was my 199th post and I just had one more to go to reach 200 posts!  My immediate Pavlovian response was to think ‘ wow, what should I write about – I need to do my 200th post today’

What is it about even numbers that attracts us so much?  Why is the 200th any more important than the 197th or the 202nd?

Anyway, I thought about it for about 30 seconds and decided I would not do another post today for the following reasons:

  1. I didn’t want to let WordPress think they can control me like a trained seal
  2. I have had a killer headache most of the day & I didn’t want to think.
  3. I recently read a blog – I think it may have been a Freshly Pressed one that said writing and posting on the weekends is really dumb cause no one reads blogs on the weekend.

So, I put it out of my mind and went for a little walk to take my mind off my headache.  I came back to my room and did a few simple tasks and was about to read myself to sleep when I thought about all the things I want to post to the blog, but I just haven’t taken the time to sit down & type them out.  Then I thought this whole ‘200 posts’ was another potential post on the pile of posts and I really need to stop procrastinating & just write.  After all, it isn’t like I spend a lot my time doing it, I mean look at my writing – have you noticed the errors?

Here is my reward for 200 posts…dastardly WordPress – I did not do it for the reward. In fact, I don’t even want it, so I clipped it out and attached it to this post. You can have it if you want…go ahead, take it.

Which, by the way, may be a good time to tell you that if I do go back & read what I wrote once I have published; it will almost always lead me to make revisions & corrections.  So, if you read something I write a few days after I post it, it may be slightly different than the original post.

So, I decided I would do number 200 today, 18 AUG 12 and this is it.  I put up my very first post, Starting Out on 6 MAR 12.  In the 166 days since I have now published 200 posts!  That is more than one/day…that’s crazy.  I would have never guessed

Oh, another reason I decided to do it is to prove the guy with the blog advice wrong.  I think there are still plenty of people that read blogs on the weekend – I have almost 550 views today (Saturday) & it is only 2100.  So please, click away and read a bunch of blogs this weekend, I think they are more interesting than most TV shows!

Also, I have attached a few pictures just because I wanted to…

Thanks for reading,

Dan

Click any image to see them full-size:


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

43 responses »

  1. Reggie says:

    Oh my goodness, your kids are just too cute! I LOVE the trikes! Kennadi looks sooo cool – I wish I had had one like that when I was growing up – aw, it even has tassels! 😀

    Well done on your 200th post, Dan!

  2. Watchoot says:

    Well it’s the weekend, I’ve read it and posted on mine, so bang goes another theory 🙂

  3. 😀 WordPress got you !!
    Oh ! By the way, you are right ! (In France too) TV shows are not interesting … I’m reading blogs instead too !
    Take care of you (I hope your headache is gone by now) !

  4. Marianne says:

    Congratulations on getting your GOLD STAR, Dan! 😉

    I agree with you – I´ve had lots of views/hits on my blog today too!

    Stay safe.

  5. Yes, strangely my stats go down on the weekend and if anything I read more blogs on the weekend than in the week. I don’t have the luxury of a work server that lets me on to WordPress but most people must!

  6. Excellent post! I think you’ve nailed how many of us bloggers feel! 🙂 Congrats! ~Patricia

  7. mindfuldiary says:

    Your post made me smile! 🙂 Have a great evening!

  8. so busy with work on weekdays that I write and read more on the weekends as well. A tip for your headache, although I’m not sure you could get it there….instead of pills, a little peppermint essential oil on the base of your scalp. I have a little ‘felt marker’ type dispenser that also contains Eucalyptus and sage essential oil and it works immediately and I smell like a pack of wriggley’s gum! 😉 Congrats on your 200th post.

  9. cocoaupnorth says:

    Cute kids you have! I agree blogs are far more interesting than TV shows. Happy Blogging:-)

  10. Brook says:

    Beautiful kids! Here on Saturday too:)

  11. Margarita says:

    Love the kids! Based on the expert opinions, I will never get read, much less Freshly Pressed…and I’m good with that! lol

    • danbohmer says:

      My blog is infinitely more popular than I ever imagined & I have no expectation of ever getting FP!

      • Margarita says:

        What you give us, Dan, is a glimpse into lives we cannot even imagine. Lives that are being manipulated by media to suit some overarching purpose. With your pictures, we see people, we see joy as well as suffering. We see that we’re not all that different. Of course your blog is popular! Thanks! 😉

  12. Those were the best pics you’ve posted so far. Oh, and congratulations on reaching the 200th post.

  13. Congratulations on the 200 posts. WordPress keeps on reminding us that we need to produce more posts to keep them happy. I truly enjoy your writing, wish you good luc, God;s blessings and stay safe. your children are lovely and I am certain they are anxiously awaiting when their Dad is back home.
    A Mom and wife of a USAF vet.

  14. rheath40 says:

    I just passed this milestone myself. Isn’t it exciting???? So glad I follow you and you follow me. Thank you.

  15. Congrats on #200! I’m about 30 off…

    Oh we *all* live by our stats LOL I call mine my ratings… I know it’s sad, but when I get up in the morning, I check my stats before my email now…

    Loved the pictures of the fam… you have a couple of great kids there 🙂

    PS, whoever wrote that no one reads blogs at the weekend is a muppet… weekends are often when my ratings are at their highest 🙂

  16. bigsmileu1 says:

    I am honored to nominate you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Please pick-up your award at http://www.grandmothermusings.com . Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I wish you many blessings. Congratulations!!

  17. I really love your photos. It’s great how diligent you are, taking them, posting them. It’s great Dan.

  18. I didn’t read it till Monday

  19. Karen says:

    Well done 🙂 (and sorry I only read it today :D)

I appreciate your comments

