I have no idea how or why it has happened, but it has.  The thought of it and what it all means is troubling.

Maybe I need to explain what I know.  I look at my WordPress stats every once in a while day (ok, usually several times a day).  But I primarily  look at the number of views stat because that is the big graph at the top of the page.  I scroll down to look at the others less often.

A few days ago I noticed I had 371 followers.  It will be nice to see that number go over 400 – help me out, tell your friends to follow…please?  Anyway, that number stuck in my head for some reason.  Then yesterday I glanced down the stats page and noticed it said I had 370 followers!  I immediately refreshed the page and sure enough it stayed at 370!

Lost!

Lost! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

WTF, that can’t be possible – I absolutely know I had 371 & I did nothing controversial to make someone leave me.  I did not kill a kitten or a puppy, say anything bad about a politician (although I did think bad thoughts about several…maybe the follower who left is a mind reader?), I did not use naughty words, I did not call anyone names, I did nothing offensive.  So why did that person leave me?

But then I thought – what if I have lost others & I just have not noticed?  It is possible I have lost a whole bunch of followers, but they are clever & leave one at a time so I never noticed…One day am I going to discover that my followers have dwindled down to 367?  What next, 352?  This is bad, a real catastrophe for my self-esteem.

What can I do to stop this slow bleed of my alleged fans of this blog?

unicorn

I would hand out unicorns, cupcakes and rainbows if I could, but that logistics delivery nut is just too hard to crack.

I think I need to treat it like my Facebook ‘Friends’  I never look at how many I have so I do not have to live through the humiliation of knowing I have been unfriended.  After all, it would be hard to sleep at night knowing that a person I never see or talk to in real life no longer wants to be my friend.  Truly a troubling thought.

What I would like WordPress to do is make the stats page customizable so I do not have to look at the stats I  do not like.  That would make it easier to avoid the devastation of me knowing that I have lost a faithful reader.

Thanks for reading and please remember, friends do not let friends unfollow.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

69 responses »

  1. El Guapo says:

    I’m always happy I have any followers at all.
    You have good stuff, Dan. I enjoy checking in.

  2. iIt’s happened to me too… I was at 207 a little while back and now I think it’s 204… the vast majority of those are on WordPress with about 35 on Twittter. I don’t worry about it… but rather, I hope they’re off doing something really important, like spending time with their kids, rather than reading my blog instead!

  3. ha! i know how you feel, i hate when it happens and i always get a little pep talk from my Hubby when it does and he is around…lol

  4. shar says:

    Oh the stress of electronic life… what would we do without technology. As long as the comments are good and the sun rises in the morning I think you will be ok, because let’s face it if the sun doesn’t rise in the morning, we all have alot more to worry about than one lost follower 🙂
    Keep your boots moving forward, you do good work!

  5. danbohmer says:

    everyone, thanks for the support…maybe I will be able to go on even with my fractured self-esteem…
    😉

  6. bigsmileu1 says:

    Sometimes people leave WordPress and then you will lose a follower. Do not fret, Dan, your blog is good and they will continue to come. Great post. 🙂

  7. Reggie says:

    I know how you feel, Dan, though I am nowhere near your number of subscribers – but I’m sure there was nothing you did to offend them, so don’t worry. I think most people have very busy and full lives, and that it needs a lot of effort and energy to juggle all the commitments that demand attention *now*… Often, all it takes is an unexpected crisis, a lengthy trip, additional work load, an extended illness, and before you know it, the inbox and RSS and Google reader are owerflowing… I confess that I too have unsubscribed from blogs on such occasions… :-{ But it does hurt to be on the receiving end of an ‘un-friend’ or ‘un-follow’… I hope you feel better soon! 🙂

    • danbohmer says:

      It is tough, but I will try to pick myself up from this tragedy and move forward. I have been thinking that maybe they unfollowed me because they were hit by a bus; so it has nothing to do with me 😉

  8. Happens all the time. People find they aren’t really reading your posts or they just decide to cull their contacts. Never quite clear really, but I hear ya on the self-esteem issue. It always feels like you’ve done something wrong and you can’t help but wonder what that could have been. But as my grandpa used to say, “Screw em! Let em get their own broads!”

    • danbohmer says:

      I am pretty sure I lost that follower because there account was closed after they were hit by a bus, or maybe they are circumnavigating the globe and no longer have internet access…

  9. manty67 says:

    Brilliant 🙂 x

  10. I feel your pain under the laughter, Dan 🙂

    Don’t take it personally. Think of all the reasons you might unfollow another blog: a cluttered email inbox; not quite what you thought it was; no time to read every blog you’ve subscribed to. Plus a million other reasons you can’t begin to know.

    It’s a good idea to check your list once a week rather than twenty times a day – much better for the ego. Believe me, I speak from experience 🙂

  11. Kafoodie says:

    I haven’t lost any followers but I have far fewer than you. But then again, my mom says I say “f*ck” too much.

  12. Can’t imagine why someone would leave without even saying “so long, see ya” but I do know that sometimes strange things happen to the stats and WordPress seems to like to rearrange stuff on the admin page as well as yahoo where I have a web site. So, I would suppose those nasty WordPress IP ers are up to no good again just for fun and just because they can… have a great day.

    • danbohmer says:

      I have decided I lost them because of something that has nothing to do with me. I think they joined a monastery and no longer have access to electronic devices.

  13. John says:

    But what if you’re losing AND gainging followers? What if you have been gaining more than you have been losing all this time and never noticed? Take an inventory of your followers then if one goes astray you have a better shot at corralling them back into the herd. I recommend Luke 15:11-32 for some perspective on the topic.

  14. (smiling) It’s really not about stats, although they can make you feel good, it’s about writing and sharing, no? It can be overwhelming to have so many blogs to read. Let me ask you. do you follow and read 370 blogs? Big job!

  15. Does your “follower” count include Facebook friends? Mine does for some reason. Perhaps you lost a Facebook friend instead? That isn’t as devastating. I don’t know half the people who I am Facebook friends with.

  16. kathruth says:

    Dan you have a great blog, no worries. I can’t think of any reason anyone would leave except with school and college starting up maybe they just were busy shopping and things. Will come back later. I love reading your page and tell everyone I know about it. Keep up good work.

  17. Cheryl L says:

    Maybe your follower really only liked your latrine pictures 😉

  18. Margarita says:

    My core muscles got a nice workout from the chuckling. Thanks! I’m always stunned I have ANY followers…it’s the quality of the ones you’ve got that matters! 😉

  19. I’ll take a cupcake…food always works for me…hahaha.

    Be encouraged!

  20. Jeremy says:

    That’s funny!! I have well over 100 (last I checked) followers but average less than 40 views a day. So I stopped tracking it, as I think I was followed so i would follow them. But I don’t plan on un- following you anytime soon 😉

  21. Sounds like you have devoted followers and friends here! No “unfollowing” here! And here is to you reaching 400 + followers – I say as I lift my cup of tea in salute to you! 😉 Blessings.

  22. I tweeted you – it was not me that stopped following!

  23. Brook says:

    Dan…you have a *great blog with great photos.* I also say *be encouraged*!

  24. I totally agree with Brook. You have a great blogg.
    I used to look at the stats a lot but now, hardly anymore.
    Job well done.
    Best, Jenny

  25. Tinman says:

    Oh God, this is so familiar, I remember when mine dropped from 25 to 24. I wondered if there was anyway I could find out who it was, so I could plead with them to come back. Or thump them.
    Maybe your blog inspired him/her to start his/her own, and not have time to follow yours anymore.

  26. gracefully50 says:

    This is too funny!
    Thanks for the laugh!

  27. Oh Dan, you shouldn’t let that bother you. People come and go. I have a woman who every time I pen something she doesn’t like, she takes her name off. Then after a time she comes back.

    You have so many fans, My God, look at all the responses to this. Just focus on your art…everything else is unimportant. I love your photography along with many, many others.

  28. PS Remember, people are nuts.

  29. jules says:

    Ya know it might not be you…………….it may be cyberspace. For some reason…my posts need to be verified/moderated before it actually posts. Never happened before…….maybe I’m 371.

  30. How are you holding up since The Trauma? I never check my Facebook follower numbers. Occasionally I’ll just wonder what someone is up to and go to click on their profile… And there’s no info. Just something asking me if I want to request them as a friend… What?! We’re already friends!…. Aren’t we…? And then I realise. And my day is ruined….

    • danbohmer says:

      taking it one slow day of recovery at a time 😉

      That reminds me of a debate between my brother & I about Facebook: What is worse – asking to be friends with someone & being ignored or being ‘unfriended’ by someone?

  31. teabuddy says:

    I think QUALITY followers are better than QUANTITY. It’s important that people care enough about your blog and value your posts. Besides you can’t please everybody. Somebody or the other is either going to get bored or miffed for no fault of yours and in my opinion that’s good riddance. I just realized I was not following you blog. Signed on. That should make up for the one that ran away. Cheers, be safe, keep well and thank you for your service 🙂 Shona

I appreciate your comments

