on the hill for Eid al-Fitr


Last night was the first day of Eid al-Fitr, the 3 day celebration for the end of Ramadan (or Ramazan as they say here).  The hill was a little more crowded than it has been and the ANA soldiers seemed much more animated and happier than normal.  Many of them were on their phones talking to their families.

And of course they were excited to have their pictures taken.

Thanks for looking!

Click an image to see it full-size:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

11 responses »

  1. Sandy says:

    Do you ever work? You are always traveling, taking photos, checking and/or writing on your blog? What happens to your blog when you return in a month? Or is keeping a blog your job?

    • danbohmer says:

      hmmm…are you serious? If you are not, I am missing something, if you are…that’s incredibly rude and really doesn’t justify a response. But WTH, I’m not sure what life is like for you, but for me I am up by no later than 0400 and go to bed around 2200, that gives me about 18 hours to do what I need to do. Keep in mind, I can’t go to the mall or out to eat or hang on the couch with the kids or any of the fun things.

      Anyway, I generally aim to keep this little slice of the world on the positive side, there is plenty of negative all around; so I would appreciate it if you would help me in that regard and keep your comments ‘light’ and generally positive. If you can’t do that, please refrain from leaving any comment. You know the old saying, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. I would appreciate that.

      Based on your comment you must be someone that works from the time you wake up until the time you go to bed. Give yourself a break and have a great night.

      take care,
      Dan

      • Well, regardless of that poster’s intent, I and many others appreciate all that you do for us Dan. There’s nothing much we can do to repay the sacrifice you’ve made for your country… except to appreciate the great photos and insights you post here 🙂

        I love them. They’re literally postcards of life from a whole other world to me.

      • danbohmer says:

        Thank you for your support!

  2. I guess you’re perceived like Jimmy Stewart in a 40’s war film. I like today’s pictures a lot. That first one reminds me of Iwo Jima. Hope I spelled it right. There’s such a moody, sultry feeling to all of them. I think when studied they always explain in their own right what life is like for a soldier. My humble opinion.

  3. Lovely Pictures, especially the one of the sunset.

I appreciate your comments

