Parting Shots


Click an image to see it full-size:

As I prepare to leave Afghanistan I have moved back to Apache for my last couple weeks in country.  I had a flight out of Al Masaak Wednesday morning, so Tuesday evening I went to the hill to say good-bye to my Afghan friends.  They were disappointed that I didn’t have my camera, so I went back to my tent to get it so I could take one last round of pictures.

Thanks for looking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

33 responses »

  1. I love these posts because they show us something we don’t see on the news – camaraderie.

    Stay safe.

  2. Thanks for sharing! So, we can see too the pics that we don’t get to see…..AND Thank You for serving our country!!

  3. I think they will miss you.

  4. sohojay says:

    Safe travel!!!

  5. Jeremy says:

    I’m glad you are returning soon! Thanks for what you have done over there. Your sharing of photos with the locals probably did more good than many other “programs” 🙂 BZ!

  6. the powerful message of unity in the midst of a war…you me be looking forward to going home with a little bitter sweet mixed in.

  7. Audrey says:

    Safe travels as you come home, Dan!
    These are some great photos, something to remember and treasure from the friendships you’ve built.

  8. Tinman says:

    It’s a pity that you’re leaving friends, but it’s great that you’re starting the journey home.

  9. mindfuldiary says:

    really love seeing different perspective, than what we see on news. the other day, photos with “guns” was scary but also amazing. powerful.

    • danbohmer says:

      Bad news sells, so that is why we are bombarded with one horrible thing after another. Too few people are interested in seeing the good that surrounds us all. I try to focus on the positive; but not always successfully

  10. jules says:

    Oh no…..one last time of ku waiting………deep breaths….patience….almost there!

    They are all so serious! No smiles…??

    • danbohmer says:

      Apparently their ‘picture face’ doesn’t include smiles. Like all the good photos of our great-grandparents, not a smile in sight!.

      For now anyway our trip west will skip Kuwait, but it will be just as long, going through Kyrgyzstan instead. But at least I’m going home, so no worries!

  11. Marian says:

    safe travels to you. thank you for all the posts. they were fun and beautiful and provided a new perspective.

  12. I know the countdown on the left says 30 days… but what’s the date you’re coming home? We all wish you a safe journey home…

  13. angela says:

    just stumbled upon your blog…so happy to read your assignment has come to an end, but what a bummer since this is my first visit. Thank you for offering a glimpse into ‘real life’. There was something to these particular photos that broke my heart upon viewing…perhaps it is because I know there is so much to these lives, this culture, that we never take the time to understand. Safe travels & thank you so very much for your service! ~

I appreciate your comments

