oops – let me clarify & give a few random pictures to look at


Click an image to see it full-size:

I think I caused some confusion with my last post & I need to clear it up.

Last night before I went to bed I published the post the final few.  I meant it was the last of my pictures from Al Masaak, not from Afghanistan.

I have 1 week left in country before I start the long, slow movement back to the States.

I do plan to continue to post over the course of my last week here & as connectivity allows, on my journey west.  Once I reach the States, I will see how things are before deciding how much I will post.

So, there is at least 1 more week of Afghanistan from me…maybe I will try to write something as photo ops at Apache just are not that exciting to me.

Thanks for looking & following along on my journey, I truly appreciate it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

32 responses »

  1. Thanks for clarifying. I love these photos of comradeship between soldiers of different nations and the respect for civilian populations from other countries.

  2. kathyruth says:

    Thanks for clarifying it

  3. Luke Heikkila says:

    Less than a week! Fantastic. Looking forward to our paths crossing again. Safe travels.

  4. Jen says:

    Dan-
    this little collection of photos seems to sum up so much of what I now understand Afghanstan. the children innocently holding hands, the beautiful clothing, the amazing nature, and the machine guns and razor wire.
    I would have only imagined the razor wire and guns and left it as a barren war zone in my mind.
    as I have followed your postings and photos, I have also done some reading about the region and the people. thank you for sharing the “rest” of the war with me.
    travel safely and I’m so glad you get to go home soon!
    Jen

    • danbohmer says:

      The war isn’t anything like you see on TV or are lead to believe by the typical war reporting. It would best be descirbed as pockets of action with a direct effect (i.e. destruction) on little slices of the country.
      Thanks for reading!

  5. shar says:

    Have a safe and speedy trip out of there! Please post pics of rugs and local arts and crafts if you are around any of them. Thanks.

  6. I love these, that sunset in particular. So happy for you that you’re coming home. You’ll have new ground to cover. You can’t stop taking photos Dan, you’re just too great at it.

  7. I love the one of the children with their colourful outfits by the wall!

  8. 23 days! Thank you so much for sharing so much of yourself and your life and your experiences with us. XOX Love & Light.

  9. I really do find your photos to be very interesting and so uplifing at the same time…….

  10. Dan, don’t worry about blogging… focus on coming home safe to your family. While I’m sure the others would agree that we love your pictures and your stories, nothing is more important than that….

  11. mushypeas says:

    dan, wishing you safe travels as you finish your time there. thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your service. your photos& blog are wonderful & we look forward to what will be ahead for you with your photography talents!

  12. Ray's Mom says:

    Be sure to lelt us know when you are safely home.

  13. Francina says:

    Have a safe trip, Dan ! Thank you for all this wonderful photo’s . In my book you have enlightened the world in a most beautiful way. Ciao, Francina

  14. The photo of the girls in all those bright colour are very nice. I hope they go to school…

  15. Hit Dan
    I would love to see the different colored spices and foods photographed if possible by street vendors etc. Thank you for serving

  16. The KAF 17 is awesome haha!

I appreciate your comments

