the boys at the shop


Click an image to see it full-size:

I visited FOB Lagman on Friday.  It had been several weeks since my last visit and this one will be my last to Lagman.  I only have more mission planned before I make the journey to KAF to begin the slow slog home.  WooHoo!

At FOB Lagman they have a couple Afghan shops and these two boys essentially run this for their Dad:  They are 13 & 9 years old…pretty impressive.  They wanted their pictures taken, so I did that, then printed some off & sent them over there today.

Thanks for looking.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

42 responses »

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    Indeed this is impressive – businessmen at this age….our youth could take a page from that book..

    • danbohmer says:

      Of course the do gooders that feel the need to protect us from oursleves wouldn’t allow it…

      • Ray's Mom says:

        Child labor – true. We live near an Amish village and it is amazing to see the young ones helping in the fields. I hired two women to help me with some heavy housework, cleaning, prepairing for a paint job – they worked circles around me and any other house cleaners I had used…it is delighful to see the buggy’s go past and the little ones wave to us.

  2. Margarita says:

    They’re adorable! I remember taking a turn helping my dad at his shop when I was growing up in Venezuela…;)

  3. Marianne says:

    What lovely, bright, young boys they are! I wonder what their futures hold for them?

  4. Reggie says:

    They are just gorgeous pics – particularly like the one with you in it too. 🙂

  5. shar says:

    great photos!

  6. Children are precious always, everywhere! Great photos.

  7. manty67 says:

    What beautiful looking kids. I couldn’t imagine kids that age being allowed to look after a shop over here in England. There lives are so different from our own kids.

  8. It must be hard to be a child living in such an area at times, but these boys look so happy……

  9. Karmic Diva says:

    thanks for sharing that

  10. Different worlds. I don’t think many children that age here in the states would be responsible enough to do that. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Such sweet faces. I keep thinking about the dogs now that you’re leaving. Will anyone be left behind? Are you all going? I’m happy for you that you’re coming home, really I am, but I feel for your 4-legged comrades. Lovely pictures Dan, as always.

  12. pathwriter says:

    Thanks for these. Great pics. Handsome boys, both…but the younger one has something special 🙂 Safe travels.

  13. Great portrait shots, Dan. Makes me want to wish the best for these boys.

  14. Oh my goodness sooooo cute!

I appreciate your comments

