The love of a Soldier’s wife


Click an image to see it full-size:

We had our Transfer of Authority ceremony this morning.  Our replacement unit is now in charge of the mission.  Which means our only job left in Afghanistan is to leave.  So now the waiting officially has begun.

After the ceremony, I set out to do one more personal mission before leaving FOB Apache.  I needed to track down a young Soldier to give him a message from home.

A few days ago I received a short message from a Soldier’s wife.  Her husband is an Army Engineer doing the hard, dusty labor required to build the FOB Apache expansion.  She asked me to pass on a message to her husband, SPC David Sturm, for her.

After the ceremony I grabbed my camera to hunt down SPC Sturm.  I found his unit headquarters and they directed me to the construction site.  I went out to there, but he was off running the loader.  I told his Squad Leader what I was trying to do & he graciously offered to take a short break so SPC Sturm could receive his message & sent one of the other Soldiers out to get him.

While his team mates gathered on Hesco’s above him, SPC Sturm stood by wondering why a Lieutenant Colonel wanted to see him.  As I snapped a few pictures, I explained that I have spent the last 11 months documenting my time in Afghanistan with pictures and posting them on official and unofficial sites.

I am sure the Soldiers were still wondering why the hell I was taking pictures of them.  Then I told them that SPC Sturm’s wife had seen my pictures of FOB Apache & asked me to tell her husband how much she loves him.  You can see how his face just lit up as he heard those words.

SPC Strum team is obviously very close as you can also see how happy it made them too.  As I turned to walk away, I heard one of the guys say ‘it’s ok, you can cry now because I’m kind of tearing up too.’  He is a lucky man to have such a close knit team.

Here is to a young Soldier & his wife.  May God watch over him & his team mates during their time in Afghanistan.

Thanks for looking,

Dan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

84 responses »

  1. Karen Sturm says:

    Dan:
    You are the GREATEST… KARMA is going to come back around to you.. Thank you for doing this for me, as I LOVE and MISS my husband so much and he called me at 3:30 am my time to tell me that you told him about me messaging you.. HE was finally happy again,, THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH….. You are a wonderful man, and if you ever need me to do anything for you here in America, you just let me know… XOXOXOX
    Be Safe and thanks again and again, cause these are the first pics I have seen of my hubby in 4 1/2 months…xoxoxo

    • danbohmer says:

      Karen, your effusive compliments made me blush. It really was no trouble for me. I am glad I could do it. I hope you were able to get hooked up with Nicki to have some care packages sent to your son. Let me know if I can help.

  2. Ahh what a lovely thing to do, I’m sure you made his day. 🙂

  3. Reggie says:

    Aw, now I am all teary-eyed too, Dan. This was so inspirational and kind of you. I’m sure he, his wife, and his team mates will never forget you for doing this. Such a wonderful, warm-hearted expression of camaraderie. 😀

  4. mushypeas says:

    dan, you are the man!! & i’m having good cry too reading of this kindness you took the time to do on your way home. God bless you all. safe travels home to your family.

  5. Karen Sturm says:

    Dan is a great guy, I am sure my husband walked away crying, His Sgt did anyway.lol
    Also Dan, if you ever get to FOB Shank, could you tell my only child, PFC Corcoran, that his Momma loves and misses him too… I know I am asking a lot, but after losing a child 19 yrs ago to SIDS, and now dealing with my husband and son in Afhganistan, lives has become very difficult. God keeps me strong knowing that there are ppl like you that do his work for him.. Thanks for all you do…..xoxoxox

    • Nicki/ Junior Women's Club says:

      Karen
      As I said in my reply we would love to help out either your husband or son with cards/small packages. If you think this would work for them please feel free to email us.

      • Karen Sturm says:

        Thank you so much… You are very wonderful as I will have to give you my sons APO address and I am sure his unit would love cards, to be honest my son says that he LOVES gummy bears or anything gummy after a firefight..lol

      • Karen Sturm says:

        Nicki: I gave that information to Dan through email. and I want to thank you in advance, I will tell you that he LOVES gummy bears or anything gummy, like those gushers or fruit rollups.. 20 yrs old and big kid at heart..lol thank you for all you do and anything you ladies can do will be GREATLY appreciated…GOD BLESS YOU

      • danbohmer says:

        Thank you Nicki – were you able to get the info from Karen? I did not get an email, it must have filtered out through spam or something…

    • danbohmer says:

      Karen, I am sorry I couldn’t help you out with your son. I know it must be difficult to have them both in Afghanistan at the same time. Keep the faith – time moves fast.

      • Karen Sturm says:

        It is okay Dan, what you did for my hubby and I was great enough, at least I get to talk and see pics of my son quite often since he has internet at his FOB, so I just THANK you for what you did for me and I know I will continue to do that but I just feel that THANK you is not enough….

  6. this was wonderful, you’ve made my day! Thank you!

  7. J campbell says:

    The members of the Junior Women’s Club have had an “adopted” soldier for many years. Our current soldier will be returning home next month. It would be our honor to make our next adopted soldier Karen’s son or husband.

    ________________________________

    • Karen Sturm says:

      You Women are great, just let me know what you need to adopt my son and I will do what is needed. This is great since it gets VERY expensive for me to send care packages to my son and my husband both… I LOVE AND MISS THEM BOTH SO MUCH!!! THIS IS MY WHOLE FAMILY TOO, WELL BESIDES MY MOMMA AND SERVICE DOG (I have seizures).. Thank you ladies and let me know what you need from me….

      • Nicki says:

        If you let Dan know the complete name and address I am sure he can forward it to me and I will take care of the rest. I don’t think you should post the address information on the blog

    • Karen Sturm says:

      I gave Dan the information for my son and I think that is very special that you are wanting to adopt him to help me… God bless you ladies.. This has been very difficult with my husband and son going at same time and me dealing with Seizures but I thank God that I do have a 9 yr old Boxer service dog that helps me get through life and a Momma that helps and supports the best she can.. And with ppl like you out there life is getting easier.. Thank you so much for all you do for not only my family but all our soldiers, that in my opinion need to just come HOME!!!!!

    • danbohmer says:

      Thank you for doing this for the Soldiers

  8. elisaruland says:

    This post just gave me goosebumps. So sweet.

  9. Reblogged this on nebraskaenergyobserver and commented:
    It’s early for me to make another post but, I love this story so much that I can’t wait. LTC Bohmer is one of my subscribers that that I am most proud to have, and this post tells you why.

  10. well didn’t that make me cry. what a gift.

  11. Deb McCrary says:

    Dan, you certainly made this couple’s day. I can’t thank you enough for the pictures and comments about your deployment. I wish you safe travels home and I know what you mean about the waiting. We are FINALLY going to pick up our son from his deployment TOMORROW!!! But we weren’t able to see very many pictures about the conditions, etc except through your site. Thanks for sharing!!

    • Karen Sturm says:

      Good luck to you Deb and I sure wish I was picking up my son and husband 2morrow.. If it wasnt for Dan I would NEVER have gotten to see pics of my husband for the whole 9 months, so you are absolutely RIGHT he did make my day, month and year…. I wish you luck and know how excited you must be to have your son back on American soil, I pray for that day to hurry for me too…xoxo

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks Deb. It is great that your son has made it safely home!

  12. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    You’ve turned me into a blubbering fool. And I don’t cry easy.

  13. kathyruth says:

    Dan you made another family happy and you took time to look him up. That’s why, what I said in my pass e-mail’s how special a person you are and how lucky that your family have you in their lives. I wish there was more high ranking people in the service that care as much for soldiers and their families as you do, I just hope that with your blog they get the idea.
    Well you have 17 days to go, My son Brian has month and half to go, it’s been a long year. I just wish that all our soldiers were coming home and war end and we have no more wars to put are soldiers in arms way for so long. Guess that wishful thinking. Well if you do pass through Waldon, that were Brian is now and have time say hi to him.
    You may not, that’s ok, where you do go on your return home you be safe.
    When you do get to u.s be sure to just send a quick message that you arrived safe.
    I know this isn’t you last log, but I know with the service when your this close to going home you may not have time to blog much, so I wanted to say what i had to say now.
    Kathy

    • Karen Sturm says:

      Kathy, I totally agree with you, he took time out of his BUSY day to hunt down my husband to deliver a message that was in my eyes, so important and as a HIGH ranking officer, he could have just blown me off, which honestly, is what I thought was going to happen, so I have been blabbing to everyone I see about how greatful and how much I owe to Dan for what he did for me and my husband b/c he sure did brighten his day in such a gloomy place…. AND DAN yes please let us know you made it home safe, as you have touch my heart in a very special way… And as you already know, I will probably be thanking you until the day I die, cause I dont think THANK YOU says enough for what you did for us….

      • kathyruth says:

        Karen, back in July I ask Dan if he had time look up my son Brian and his soldiers and take a picture, as their was no pictures taken of them this whole deployment. Even with him trying to get his ID update he found time to look him up and get pictures. Put them on his blog FOR A MOM, everyone so thankful to him. Because of him my family and other soldiers have them pictures to be pass down in futures years. I to can’t thank him enough. He the best in my book. We need more like him in our services. God Bless Be our soldier’s home soon.

    • danbohmer says:

      it will not be long and both your Soldiers will be home. Stay strong Kathy & Karen

  14. I spent yesterday reading and writing my Dad’s WWII story from his letters. He has not made it overseas yet but it is winter in Tennessee, they are on field maneuvers in the freezing cold. I just read and transcribed the letters from Christmas 1943. Reading your post made brought not only tears for your post but ended bringing tears for my dad’s plight. You are awesome to take the time to get that message to him. Thank you for sharing it with us. I know how important these things are for our soldiers. God Bless and I will be glad to have you back home.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thank you. I really enjoy reading your Dad’s journey. It makes me wonder what it was like for my Dad – heading over to the Korean War as a 16 year-old kid…he never really talked about it & I have no letters to go back to. Thank you for sharing your dad’s story

  15. Stephanie Goerlich says:

    Dan, you also made my day, that tall young soldier in the back standing up is my son (soldier), SPC Goerlich, i have not seen a picture of him since he left, it was AWESOME. SPC Sturm and my son have gone through basic training, AIT, Ft. Benning and now Afghanistan together, i am thankful they are great friends and they have each others back. I am so looking forward to March when these soldiers return thank you, thank you, thank you for these wonderful pictures it’s so hard to imagine the place they are describing to you over the phone but these pictures truly bring it home.You have definitely made this mom very happy. Thank you again, Stephanie Goerlich
    God Bless you.

    • Arely Madrid says:

      This picture made my day too. SPC Sturm’s face is priceless. So proud of all the soldiers and I can’t wait for them to come home. It’s great knowing that Sturm and Brandon have each others back. They really have gone through so much already. I cannot stop smiling when I look at the pictures. Stay safe out there. We are all waiting for your safe return home. dan you really are an amazing person!

    • danbohmer says:

      Thank you Stephanie, I am glad I was able to help.

  16. Audrey says:

    This is beautiful, made me tear up too. Glad you were able to be the messenger for this and thank you for sharing it with us.

    • Karen Sturm says:

      Audrey, it was one of the best things someone has ever done for me, cause it was only 3 weeks after we got married that David had to leave to Afghanistan, so this was very important and meant more than Dan will ever know… There is a special place in HEAVEN for ppl like him…..

      • Audrey says:

        Karen, you are an amazing Army wife. My brother’s in Afghanistan right now too and I don’t know how his wife of one year raises their little girl while he’s away. You ladies are a breed of your own and I’m in awe. And with Dan going above and beyond, it’s encouraging like nothing else!

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks Audrey, I was happy to be able to do it.

  17. Watchoot says:

    You’re a Top Bloke Dan, which means Good Guy in american english 🙂

  18. Karen Sturm says:

    Well I just want to say in case DAVID gets to look at this website again… I just want you to know that I love you with ALL my heart and you are the greatest thing to ever happen to me.. I will always be right here beside you and will be waiting for you to return to me so that I can feel your strong arms around me once again!!! I LOVE AND MISS YOU SO MUCH!!!! This is the part of the Army a lot of ppl dont think about, its the part when you have to say “see ya later” to the Love of your life…. Soulmates for Life, Right? I Love you and thank you for making me Mrs. David L. Sturm, it is an honor that I hold very dear to my heart.. I love you baby and please come home to me safe, see you in 6 months.xoxoxooxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxox

  19. Margarita says:

    May each and every soldier return safely to his/her waiting family’s loving embrace. xoM

  20. artsifrtsy says:

    What great follow through! You can see how that message made his day.

  21. What a lovely story and photos! Wiping away a few tears here…

  22. Terri Walker says:

    Thank you!! My hubby is in some of the pictures u took at apache!! I wish I could jump thru the computer screen and hug him Even just for a second ❤

    • Karen Sturm says:

      Terri: It was your husband that grabbed David shoulder and told him it was ok to cry, cause it was tearing him up too..lol I heard him on the phone he said I made him cry too.lol Hope you are doing well, and our guys will be be home soon!!!

    • danbohmer says:

      I am glad you were able to see your husband. I wish I would have taken more pictures.

  23. Tinman says:

    Well done, Dan, that was a lovely thing to do.

  24. Ray's Mom says:

    You are one that will be difficult to replace. The men will miss you. God bless you and be safe.

  25. Gina says:

    Mahalo Nui Loa Dan….for pics of my baby brother who we miss and love so much. It choked me reading this article…yet I thought how lucky I am that my brother happens to be part of SPC Strum’s team….

  26. Gina says:

    By the way…my brother is Sgt Alex Crisostomo….

    • danbohmer says:

      SGT Crisistomo is a great NCO, he didn’t even hesitate to take the time out of their busy day so I could do this for one of his Soldiers. He is the example of a compassionate leader we are all lucky to have.

  27. A K H says:

    SS told me to go to this website to see some pictures of him & his team and to read the story, it brought years to my eyes and I was also happy to see that SS’s picture. God Bless you all!! Take care!! Safe travels!

  28. Kimberly says:

    Amen.

  29. Karen Sturm says:

    Audrey: I will tell you, I lost a son almost 19 years ago and that WAS the hardest thing I ever had to deal with especially since I was only 22 yrs old, but I will be honest this is the second hardest thing I have had to deal with, cause not only is hubby there but my only child (Michael) is there too, so my heart hurts everyday.. But You have to be STRONG, most and lots of women cant manage and those are the ones you hear that run off with other men, but if you truely LOVE your MAN, its pretty easy but you worry everyday.. AND what Dan did for me, I dont know If I will ever be able to thank him enough….
    And also, thank you for the great compliment.. xoxo

  30. What a great a story with some wondeful photos

  31. Angel says:

    Awesome heartfelt article and even better- was the pictures for loved ones to see their special someone after so many months! Thanks Dan, for your big heart! God Bless you and all our soldiers out there!

  32. The Patriot says:

    Reblogged this on A Fathers Apocalypsis and commented:
    A great story about just one of our fighting men in Afghanistan. A great read! Get your Kleenex.

  33. The Patriot says:

    Thank you for your service to our great nation Dan. What a wonderful story of a message of love being delivered. I reblogged this on afathersapocalypsis.wordpress.com

    God bless you and those you connect through words and pictures. God speed, and a safe return home.

    The Patriot

  34. That is incredibly sweet. My husband arrived in Afghanistan recently. It’s hard when there is so little contact. I’m sure you brought a great joy to that man and his wife.

  35. Nice post, colonel. Good show. While I’m at it, thanks for liking my blog.

  36. A very nice thing you did 😉

  37. […] top 5 posts are: Forward Operating Base Apache, About me, Sleeping in Afghanistan, The love of a Soldier’s wife, Lagman & […]

I appreciate your comments

