The beginning of the end


It is 1700, Monday 24 SEP 12 & I am sitting in the Admiral Club at O’Hare International Airport, just a few hours from home.  Unless something crazy & unexpected happens, I will be sleeping in my bed tonight.

I intended to chronicle my travels home, but I did not and I blamed it on lack of easy internet access at Camp Atterbury.  The full story is I didn’t try very hard…

So here is part one of I’m not sure how many more, of my trip out of Afghanistan.  Things actually went remarkably well – no complaints at all.

We were delayed at Apache for a few days because of the hazy weather, but that actually was a blessing.  You see, we had been scheduled to be at KAF for a few days, but those days were instead spent at Apache.  Anyone will tell you KAF is the less desirable place to wait.

So, luck was on my side and we left Apache late afternoon on the 16th.  We arrived at KAF and were able to squeeze onto a flight leaving the very next day.  Within 18 hours of landing at KAF we were already on our way out.  Good deal!

The next installment will chronicle my short wait at KAF and arrival at Manas…maybe tomorrow or the next day.

Thanks for looking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

19 responses »

  1. Cheryl L says:

    So glad you will be arriving home safe and sound!

  2. Jenny says:

    Welcome home. Here’s to sleeping in your own bed tonight and thank you for your service to this country.

  3. I am so happy for you that you will be safe and sound at home tonight! Thank you for defending our freedoms. God Bless you, sir! My nephew is in Afghanistan at this moment. I worry so much for him and his fellow soldiers. My nephew is coming home in November to witness the birth of his first son! I pray for the safety of all of our valiant military.I salute you!!!

  4. A Dog With Fleas says:

    Welcome home and thank you for your service for this great country of ours!!

  5. Jay says:

    wow, what a feeling to be that freaking close!!!!! Good luck man, enjoy.

  6. marksackler says:

    Welcome home. Your service is deeply appreciated.

  7. Welcome Home! Love, light and many thanks for your courage in serving our country. Enjoy being at home 🙂

  8. Sleep well in your own bed. I’m so happy for you.

  9. Good to hear you have arrived home safely

  10. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    yippee! your own bed! your own pillow! welcome home.

  11. Eddy says:

    Welcome Home Soldier, and thank you for protecting our freedom. May God bless you and your family!

  12. gracefully50 says:

    You’re almost home! Yay!

  13. Yay…You’re almost there….:)

  14. kathyruth says:

    So glad you will be home soon,

  15. cinandjules says:

    It’s Tuesday night…………how was your first full day back at home? Hope you slept in and enjoyed the comforts of your own bed.

  16. Don’t you get depressed because you’re home. Please take pictures of whatever is in front of you the same way you did while you were away. I’m looking forward to that.

  17. russtowne says:

    Yay! Welcome back to the USofA Colonel! Thank you for your service and sacrifice!
    Russ

  18. Hope you did make it to your own bed. How happy your family must be to have you home safe.

I appreciate your comments

