The last views of Afghanistan


 

Click an image to see it full-size:

The helicopter was crowded with passengers and bags; the badly scratched, plastic window was closed and dirty, but it would be my last opportunity (I hoped) to take pictures of the southern Afghanistan landscape.  So I pulled out my camera and snapped a few pictures on the flight from FOB Apache to KAF.

thanks for looking!

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

 

33 responses »

  1. I feel the sadness in these. I know you were happy to come home but leaving is never easy. They remind me of blank canvasses, rather apt since you’re starting anew.

  2. cinohio says:

    Thank you not only for sharing your thoughts and pictures but more importantly your service, the sacrifices you have made as well as your family! God bless you and yours!

  3. Reggie says:

    What a different world you were in not so long ago, Dan… Does it feel a bit strange – though no doubt quite wonderful! – to be home again?

    I am so relieved you are safely back with your family, and curious to hear what the future will bring you. I’m sure it’ll continue to include photographing and writing about your experiences, won’t it? 🙂

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks Reggie, I have been home for slightly more than a week and in many ways it seems as if I never left; Afghanistan seems so far removed already.

      I would like to continue the blog, but so far I haven’t figured out when & what…

  4. Thanks for sharing and thanks for serving. I am so glad you are home safe!

  5. deCamville Design says:

    Jack and I are glad you are home safe and sound with your family. I saw a chinook in the skies over Dallas the other day, and I was able to identify it thanks to your blog. ~Patricia

  6. A Dog With Fleas says:

    Thanks for posting these pictures and thanks for all you have done for our country!! So glad to hear you are home safe with your family!

  7. mushypeas says:

    yikes, after all that sand you must be so happy to be seeing your home town, dan! hope your home coming has been wonderful. we keep you & your family in our prayers.

  8. Tinman says:

    When I came here first September 30 seemed so far away. I’m so glad you’re safe, and on your way home.

  9. kathyruth says:

    It sad in way not to open up your blog see all pictures, comments and to read something interesting that may of happen to you that day. But I’m so glad that your family have you home and safe. Thanks for all the pictures and everything. Kathy

  10. Ray's Mom says:

    Glad you are home with your family. Sad for the ones left behind. Hopefully they too will make it home to their families. Good wishes to you and your family and hopefully this will be your last deployment.

  11. It must’ve been emotional. Thanks for all you’ve shared.

  12. Francina says:

    It’s good to know you are on your way home, safe and sound. Thank you for sharing these photos.
    Ciao, Francina

  13. Did you say Bye, Bye as you were leaving? Thanks for serving:)

  14. Thank you for sharing your experiences. Most importantly, Thank you for your service and welcome home soldier! A job well done!

  15. Love seeing your journeys while you were there and I can’t wait to see what you do next 🙂

I appreciate your comments

