Well, it has been one year since I posted – Starting Out, launching the beginning of my blog.  I honestly had no idea where I would go with it or if I would even stick to it.

I did stick with it and my blog became photocentric, sharing the things around me in Zabul, Afghanistan.  In a relatively short time I had a following that I didn’t expect and that was the incentive I needed to post almost every day for the rest of the time I was there.

Since late September, when I returned home, I have not done a very good job keeping at it…I would like to, but so far I haven’t found the incentive to take the time to do it.

I am amazed at the number of people that are still stopping by, almost always looking for information on Afghanistan, although I have had no new Afghanistan content in nearly 6 months.

Here are my latest stats:

  1. I have had 108,490 page views, averaging about 5000 per month since October 2012
  2. My busiest month was August with nearly 16000 views.
  3. I have had visitors from 122 different countries
  4. The top 5 countries with the most visits are: the USA, Romania, the UK, Canada & South Africa, in that order.
  5. There have still been no visitors from Fiji or Lichtenstein
  6. The top 5 search terms bringing people to my blog are: FOB Apache, FOB Apache Afghanistan, FOB Apache Afghanistan 2012, FOB Lagman & FOB Bullard, in that order
  7. The top 5 posts are: Forward Operating Base ApacheAbout meSleeping in AfghanistanThe love of a Soldier’s wifeLagman & Apache views
  8. The post I would like to be the most viewed is Tribute to the Soldiers of COP Mizan because those guys should always be remembered
  9. I currently have 435 followers.  At one point I had 448 but then dropped to a recent low of 432 (even though I seldom write, I still check my stats about once a week).  I had hoped to reach 500, but I guess that will probably not happen.
  10. I have put up 248 posts, but only 4 of them in 2013.

I plan to get back to posting regularly,  maybe weekly.  We’ll see.

Anyway, I want to offer my sincere thanks and gratitude for everyone’s ongoing support and interest in my little slice of the internet.

Thanks for looking and take care.

Dan

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

24 responses »

  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    Keep sailing, dude… Share your stuff!

  2. Happy Birthday to you, happy birthday to you,,,haaaapppyyy blogging bday too you!
    Love your post. My roommate returned home from Afghanistan about 6 months ago,,,and I still am hearing stories of that wonderful scenic place. I enjoyed your pics while you were there, and I hope you blog more that you are home!

  3. mushypeas says:

    hi, dan! we have loved reading your heartfelt words & seeing your great photos, it gave us insight into a place we didn’t understand. we loved you then sharing life with your gorgeous family upon your return.

    but we have deeply admired that you put being back with your family first since being state side. when we would realize that a couple of weeks had gone by without a post, i would say to my husband, “well, at this moment, dan is straight out living life with his family & reconnecting with friends rather than writing about it because often we just can’t do both”.

    but this doesn’t mean we didn’t miss your blogs! we are so happy you are back with your now-growing family. we really look forward to hearing your look at life & the world around you as it is now, which is so going to include changing a lot of diapers soon! :O)

  4. Reggie says:

    Mushypeas has perfectly encapsulated how I feel about your blog too, Dan.

    I loved reading about your time in Afghanistan, and getting a behind-the-scenes glimpse – in words and images – of what it is like to be a soldier in those challenging conditions. It was insightful, and sometimes painful, poignant and grief-stricken; but I also recall some amusing anecdotes of bureaucracy become surreal!

    It is always nice to read your stories and look at your photos, so I hope you will continue blogging – though I too think that with the imminent arrival of your little one you probably will have other priorities soon!

    Sending you and your lovely family many blessings and happy thoughts!

  5. ethelthedean says:

    Happy blogaversary! Many happy returns, and buckle up for the terrible two’s! (Just kidding!)

  6. El Guapo says:

    It’s great to see you whenever you turn up.
    As stated above, congrats on the blogaversary!

  7. Ray's Mom says:

    Wow! Amazing stats. Congrats and I hope you keep on blogging. I really enjoy your posts.

  8. Patty B says:

    I am glad you are enjoying your time at home – you deserve it. Post when you can we are all here waiting for your return. 😉

  9. Allan says:

    Heading to Apache from KAF. Is there internet at Apache? If it’s only at the MWR, can I connect with my own laptop (WiFi)?

    • danbohmer says:

      I left in September 2012. At that time there was limited internet outside the MWR (Edge City) that worked reasonably well. A few people tried to use Hughes net which was expensive and not very good. They were supposedly going to get better commercial internet there ‘soon’, but I have no idea if it ever came through.

  10. That’s an amazing following for just one year. Congratulations!

  11. Forgive me for being absent. I love your photos Dan…please know that and I’m happy to see that you’re still taking pictures and sharing them. They never cease to be special and wonderful.

I appreciate your comments

