Just a short post with more pictures from the trip.

Irbit MotorWorks of America, aka Ural IMWA, aka Ural USA has a monthly newsletter, the Irbit Informer.  Novembers was published yesterday and a photo of John’s Bondi & my Yamal in front of our dad’s shop at the conclusion of our trip was selected as the Photo of the Month.  They also linked to the blog, and I see that I am getting quite a few visitors as a result, so I thought it would be a good time to post a few more photos.

You can check out the Irbit Informer by clicking the link: Irbit Informer

I really do intend to get back into the blog swing of things someday, just not sure when that day will be here.

Oh, as an aside, if you are still reading this post, I want you to know that you are the first to be told my promotion has officially been recorded.  I received my orders yesterday and as of 1 NOV 13, I am a Colonel in the US Army – hooah!

Take care & thanks for reading.

Dan

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

19 responses »

  1. Congratulations, COLONEL!!
    🙂 🙂 🙂
    And from the bottom of my heart, thank you for your service!!

  2. Reggie says:

    Heartfelt congratulations on your promotion to Colonel – that is awesome news, Dan!

    And I love the pics of the Urals, they are such photogenic bikes. And how terrific that your blog was featured in their newsletter!

  3. Congratulations and thank you for your service!

  4. Lisa says:

    Congratulations on your promotion! Always enjoy reading your posts and looking at the pictures.

  5. mushypeas says:

    colonel bohmer!! ya-hoo!! & congratulations.

    we want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your service.

    gee, we have enjoyed reading of your trip. it must have been wonderful & also special spending time w/your brother.

    when the blog writing bug hits you, we’ll be waiting. when you do it, you do it. :O)

  6. Marian says:

    Congratulations! Always enjoy reading your stories/thoughts/adventures.

  7. Eddy says:

    I salute you! Congratulations! Swing by Vegas and I’ll buy you a cup of Coffee…or a beer.

  8. I learned of your blog thru the Ural site,was surprised to learn you were from Moorhead,as I live in Detroit Lakes. Congrats on your promotion-as the wife of a disabled veteran, I appreciate your service and sacrifice. What a great adventure you had- thanks for sharing it. I must admit a slight annoyance,as I thought I was the only Ural Yamal owner in the area,but, on second thought, welcome to the club. We’ve had a blast with ours,even thought I only just learned to ride when we bought it in April, with the help of my wonderful and indulgent husband. My dog Zoey appreciates riding in the sidecar with her “doggles” protecting her eyes. You may have researched this already, but FYI, I bought mine from Leo’s South in Lakeville,MN, which is probably the closest dealer to us for service.

    • danbohmer says:

      Thanks for stopping by & thank you for the kind words. We had an amazing trip.

      I have bought two Moto Guzzi’s from Leo’s and stop by there as often as I can. It is a good shop with good people. Mike told me he sold 3 Yamals. He said there is one near Alexandria too.

      Are you aware that there is an issue with rims with the date stamp April 2012? It seems many of the Yamals have at least one of the April 2012 wheels (including mine). The wheels crack along the spokes, so be sure to carefully inspect your wheels often. IMWA will be issuing a recall soon, I hope…

      Take care and hope to see you on the road.
      Dan

      • Thanks so much for the wheel info. Looks like I have 2 wheels (sidecar and front) which match that date. May I ask where you found this out?

      • danbohmer says:

        I found out that there is an issue with the wheels cracking on the Soviet Steeds website. I spoke with my dealer and they told me IMWA will be issuing a recall as soon as the details could be worked out.

  9. Congrats!!!!! You must be super excited colonel 🙂

I appreciate your comments

