I have been given a few blog awards since I started this little venture.  Guiltily, I have only publicly acknowledged one (The Versatile Blogger Award).  Although I had good intentions to recognize the others, I put them on the back burner and then honestly forgot.  I have thought I should go back through my comments & attempt to find them, but I do not know of a way to easily wade through 1000+ comments spread over 100+ posts to find them.

So, first off I want to sincerely apologize for those that took the time to nominate me & my failure to recognize your efforts.

Secondly, I want to ensure I recognize Let’s Talk About Family for recognizing my blog with the One Lovely Blog Award.

I truly do appreciate the recognition by my fellow members of the blog community.  However, as I said in my previous award post, I am hesitant to do these for reasons I am not sure I can articulate…so given I have no real reason not to do it, I guess I will.

With the One Lovely Blog Award the rules are:

  1. Thanks again Let’s Talk About Family
  2. Share 7 things about myself that you still may not know.
  3. Nominate 15 bloggers.
  4. Notify the nominees that I have done so.
  5. Put the logo of the award on my blog site.

Seven things about me:

  1. I come from a family with 6 kids: 3 girls & 3 boys
  2. I have 6 kids: 3 girls & 3 boys
  3. I am a Nuclear Pharmacist when not wearing my US Army uniform
  4. I enlisted in the US Army in 1983…wow, I am old!
  5. I love to travel.
  6. I drive a Moto Guzzi, not a Harley
  7. I miss my wife & kids more than I can explain

The 15 blogs I wish to pass this on to is a difficult list to develop.  WordPress does a great job of giving me the statistics of who is looking at my stuff, but I cannot figure out how to easily track down the top blogs I follow.  So I will need to wing it.  These are the first 15 blogs that popped into my head that I regularly read.  There are many others that are just as good.

  1. Bucket List Publications
  2. All that makes you…
  3. truelovejunkie
  4. Bridging War & Hope
  5. terry1954
  6. Hot Pot
  7. WILDEN MARSH: Another Year Living with Nature at Hoo Wood and Wilden Marsh Nature Reserve.
  8. Hoarding Woes & You
  9. Project 365 by Kenneth Todd
  10. Motherhood, WTF?
  11. The Man of the Minivan
  12. All Things Boys Blog
  13. It’s Always Sunny in Kabul
  14. The Regina Chronicles 366
  15. Jude’s Photography

For those I selected, please do not feel obligated to continue the chain if it isn’t your thing.  I understand & will not be offended.  But do know that I enjoy yours and many others’ writings and photos.

Also, these are not rank ordered in anyway; so It’s Always Sunny in Kabul , just because you are near the bottom of the list doesn’t mean you are in 13th place 😉

Thanks,

Dan

About danbohmer

...just another guy moving through life Everything posted here is my personal opinion and in no way reflects an opinion, thought or representation of anyone else or any organization.

17 responses »

  1. Congrats and well deserved!

  2. I admire your desire to accept the nominations with all the requirements. I recieved a few and am honoured but I always tell them I’m too lazy or busy or overwhelmed to comply 🙂 To make myself feel less guilty I started Friday Pick where I highlight and link to a blog I read that week. But good for you! 😉

  3. Jeremy says:

    Congrats! Well deserved!

  4. deCamville Design says:

    Congratulations to you!! It is well-deserved and I enjoy your blog. ~Patricia

  5. Luke Heikkila says:

    stupid question Dan…first, thanks for the nod…I appreciate it. Now for the stupid in me to come on out…how did you link to the 15 blogs you mentioned? Plain and simple URL within the body of the post…or is there some other way to do it? LT-Fish hinted at the estimated # of days you have left in AFG…you can do that. stay safe, home stretch.

    • danbohmer says:

      Hey Luke,

      There is probably an easier way to do it, but what I do is to type the title of the blog, highlight it then click the hyperlink icon (or you can use alt+shift+A) and past the link in the URL box.

      We are on the downhill slope, that’s for sure.

      Take care, Dan

  6. […] I found another This morning I posted about being given a blog award & I had mentioned that I had been given a few others but failed to follow through or even […]

  7. Elisa says:

    Congratulations, you deserve it!

  8. SwittersB says:

    Hello Dan,

    Thank you for the acknowledgement! Very kind and I will pass it on too.

    Gary (Hoarding Woes & You)

  9. Dani says:

    Hi Dan, thanks so much for the award! I’m afraid I’m horrible with these sorts of things, but I’m so grateful still for you to take the time out to follow through. Love reading your blog!

I appreciate your comments