Afghan Soldiers


One of my first posts after I arrived on FOB Al Masaak was Pictures of the ANA in which I talked about how excited the ANA soldiers were to have their pictures taken.  I spent a few days at FOB Apache last week, which gave me the opportunity to print those pictures out and bring them back to Al Masaak.

When I went up on the hill last night to give them their pictures you would have thought I was handing out gold bullion.  It was quite the sight and I have to admit I was a little uncomfortable as I was completely engulfed by these guys as they tried to get close enough to see if they were going to get a picture.

I soon attracted a throng of 20 or more soldiers and as soon as I was done handing out all of the prints I had they began positioning themselves for more pictures.  I spent the next 30 minutes taking pictures on the hill, in front of their vehicles and in the flower garden – the Afghans love their flowers!  I am not sure why, but a popular pose was with their cellphone held to their ear.

Thanks for looking!

Click the image to see them full-size:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

28 responses »

  1. Reggie says:

    Oh, I remember that post, Dan – how wonderful that you were able to print out the photos and hand them out – I’m sure they’ll treasure your pics. Do you think they will pass them on to their wives or girlfriends back home?

    • danbohmer says:

      I’m not sure, but they sure were excited to get them. I only know a few words of Pshtu and no Dari, so I cannot communicate with them beyond gestures.

  2. kathruth says:

    Guess their not shy.

  3. El Guapo says:

    Nice pics!
    I wonder why everyone is so thrilled to be in/see the pictures…
    (Besides the fact that they really do look good!)

  4. artsifrtsy says:

    I took a Polaroid on a trip to Honduras one time. I was thinking about how much fin it would be to share images with family at the end of each day 0 instead I used most of my film shooting the kids on the boardwalk and giving them the photos – they were so excited to see themselves. Sometimes they would run home and bring back family for more photos and would bring items to trade. Love the shots – especially the cell phone in the flowers:)

  5. i must have been gold to them! awesome shots!

  6. mindfuldiary says:

    Beautiful photos! Haha like the photos with mobile phone poses 🙂

  7. Oh how I love these photos and your blog is just so awesome…………

  8. nothing like a man in a uniform….oops indoor voice Diana 😉

  9. […] Dark Knight After I pried myself away from my ANA photo shoot, I went to my spot on the HESCOs to take some shots of the sunset.  I was expecting to […]

  10. jules says:

    Perhaps it’s a “status” symbol. From your pics it appears that the people around don’t have much of anything.

    As for the personal space invasion ………………….that would be a hard one to endure.

  11. Jeremy says:

    Wow, that’s a great thing you did for them !

  12. cissyblue says:

    You know what Dan Bohmer? You are a very nice person!

  13. Brook says:

    Yes….you’re a very nice person, a *superb* human being, writer and photographer. All the pictures are so soulful. *Thank you.*

I appreciate your comments

